SHTF Tip# 6- Bug Out Camping!!!

in #shtf7 years ago

coollogo_com-267051192.png

Ladies and gents today I will go over a list of things too have at your bug out camp and why they would be beneficial to the site! Now, I won't cover everything here. I want to leave room for creativity on your part! But I will list some things that I believe are essential; and maybe a couple "Nice to have" Items! So lets get on this list! : )




Item 1


A solid structure shelter would be the ideal set up for your bug out camp! But there are other possibilities as well! In the event that you do not have a solid structure; it would be beneficial to have either materials for a shelter on standby and ready to go. You may want to take another route also! Maybe you would like to have a tent ready to go. So all you have to do is set that bad boy up and get down to living!


Item 2


Water is a huge essential item! I think that if you have control now; then you should take full advantage and store plenty of water! Or have a means to store and sanitize water! Water is life! I would make this item a top priority to have in stock at all times! And if you do store water, be sure to check the expiration dates on any of the containers you may be storing it in! Water may not expire but the container might! Also be sure that your container is free of BPA (if plastic), Rust, debris, and little critters! You are going to want to keep the water as sanitary as possible! And depending how long it is before you may have to use your bug out camp; you may want to sanitize it anyway!


Item3


This item is a good reason to have a solid built structure for your bug out camp! Food would be a great ideal item to have in your bug out camp! You might also find that without a hard structure, you may have issues keeping your emergency rations properly stored! But the ideal food item would be: canned goods, self preserved foods (mason jar prepped), freeze dried foods, jerky, or MREs. Things like these have a very long shelf life and can even exceed the "expiration date" if properly stored! But in the worse case scenario it would at least be a good idea to have means to trap and grow foods at your camp!

Item 4


Tools are a great addition to your survival cache! Now I'm talking good ol' fashioned hand tools! Power tools will fail you after so long! Hand tools have the possibility of lasting a long long time! Plus working with the hands builds confidence and motivation to carry on! It may give you a sense of accomplishment after you go full on handy man mode and create a masterpiece! Lol. But some examples of basic hand tools to have would be things like: A saw, full size axe, hatchet, hammer, machete, screwdrivers, knives, eating utensils and plates/bowls, pots and pans, shovel, rope, etc. There are far too many to list. But the small list I wrote out are some great tools to have set in place at your camp!


Item 5


Cover and concealment items are great to assist with making you and your camp less visible to those unwanted guests! It may be a good idea to some sort of concealment in a bug out scenario! I would imagine that if you are bugging out, that you are trying not to be around people! So things like camo netting, fishing net (to weave brush into), paint, jute twine, possibly hunting camo clothing or military (match with your surrounding environment). Making you and your camp less visible could benefit you and your group.


Item 6


Setting up hygiene areas such as a shower and outhouse (latrine) may be something that can keep you and your group in a positive mood! Hygiene is very important in a survival situations. So, once again; if we have the opportunity to prepare for things like this, then why not take advantage? So a shower stall and an out house is a great way to contain bodily wastes and keep practicing good hygiene!


Item 7


A power source is a good investment to have at you camp! You may want to have a generator; but keep in mind that a generator may be loud, let off a strong scent, and use fuel that you may not have. So this is where we gauge our surroundings and decide if we can create an alternate power source. Can we use water, wind or sun? You may find that some lanterns and a fireplace may be all that you need also!


Item 8


Weapons are a great item to have on standby in the event that you do not make it to your camp with any! It is always a good idea to have the means to defend yourself, family and supplies. Firearms (with ammo and magazines) would be the ideal item in this category. But you might also find that a bow or crossbow would be a good item to have for hunting quietly! The less gun shots you take; the better the odds of staying isolated are!


Item 9


Comfort items are a "nice to have" type deal. But if we are prepped enough to have a bug out camp; then I am sure we can prep just a tad more to have a few comfort items! Items in this category cover a wide range , but may consist of things like: Blankees, pajamas, board games, toys, mattresses, pillows, extra clothing, pictures, etc. You may want to personalize your scenario and involve items that suit you or your family! This is just a good way to keep everyone in a positive mood, and also to not feel like everything they ever had has been taken from them!


Well I hope you gals and guys found this post useful and informative! Like I said before; these are just some of the items that would be a good idea to keep in stock at your "REMOTE" bug out camp! I hope I got some wheels turning with this one! Thank you everyone for reading and I hope you enjoyed it! :-)



giphy (8).gif
https://giphy.com

TEOTWAWKI- The End Of The World As We Know It



GIF courtesy of @liberty-minded! Thank you!

@oilyshumblehome and @elew I'll keep tagging!: )


Badge credit goes to @daddykirbs. Thank you!

Images sourced by https://www.shutterstock.com

Semper Fidelis

TEOTWAWKI Man

Sort:  

You have two choices
1 ) Live in you Bug Out Location (or have family/friends living there)
2 ) Bring your Bug Out Location with you.

Almost the same price, either way. LOL

That is a super tactical bug out shelter! Lol. And yea I'd say the traveling band wagon maybe a more comfortable option too! Thanks brother! : )

Well, I'll be... Cabela's now sells the "entry level" expedition trailer.

cabela.png

Well that looks like a nice place to stay at TEOTWAWKI time! Lol. You could even setup a game room in there. Haha

It is only slightly more expensive than a trailer tent I was hoping to setup myself. But, nothing like the Conqueror. If only Steem would go to 2,000 by the end of August. LOL

Well If that were the case I'd be buying one too! Lol. Maybe someday! But we can still dream can't we?

I have a bucket in the closet that I fill up with dreams! If all of my dreams stayed in my head, I'd be useless in a SHTF situation. Haha!

Here is the website: Conqueror North America
Day dream before clicking on the pricing chart.

Australia has a ton of options for these trailers. The US has about 1/2 dozen manufacturers, but nothing like this one. The owners actually import them in from Australia and they are built to American spec.

Everything you listed above is available on these bad boys.

Sounds like I need to make this investment! Then all I have to do is get a secluded property and stock it with food and tools! : ) The price actually isn't too bad for all that you get! But still alot of money! Haha! Thanks man!

Oh, and there is Borderland Trailers, which is my #2 dream expedition trailer

It has a Gun and Communication Box which drops down over the inside bed.

This also a nice set up man! So many options. So not enough money! Haha

Nice! We have a camper but it isn't all seasons so we would freeze in the winter, even with a propane heater. Lol! Still We could likely insulate it with brush/etc to help in that area if need be.

Don't forget medications/first aid supplies. ;)

Yes of course. Thank you for that addition Oily! 😀

Always good to have the basics and then add on from there! : )

Great information as usual! I would add a solar shower to that shower stall. It can be just a 5 gallon bucket painted black with a hose coming off of it. A hot shower can be a morale booster.

Totally agree with you brother! I got a solar shower in a subscription box, and that where mine is going eventually! : ) The price is pretty fair too! Who doesn't love a nice warm shower right? Thank you man!


http://www.chkadels.com/5-Gallon-Solar-Heater-Camping-Shower-26996

Speaking of subscription box.
I was really hoping to make enough to be able to pay for the month SHTF Survival Box. I think that is my 1 year goal...if we have that long ;) [wink]

Lol. It is a good little investment! @prep4shtf told me I should make the TEOTWAWKI Box! I might have to go ahead and do it! Steemit Gets free shipping! Lol. Maybe someday I'll be able to fund it!

I just did a quick search and boy... I should not have. I think there are a dozen box subscriptions worth getting. At a minimum of $40 per box, that would not be a hobby the wife would NOT appreciate.

But, if I could pay it with Steem through that Steem store, then that would be worth it.

I guess the key to all the boxes is they figure out a bulk discount buy of items, with some of them will have a bigger margin than others, so that the overall price of the box would be cheaper than buying the items individually, but the bulk buy will give you a profit over the subscription cost.

So, you would have to have enough cash upfront, to purchase enough supplies for X amount of boxes and hope that you sell them all.

Well my plan is to eventually make the TEOTWAWKI Box and sell it on my own website, but also on peerhub so that I can give my Steemian friends a special free shipping type discount! And I would try to do it monthly just like every other company! Obviously I have to have a place to do all of this first, but I can see it being in the near future. Possibly within a year or so! And yes I hope to do enough advertising to sell what I put together! This is one of the dreams that's still in my head. Lol. I have dumped it in the bucket just yet!

But yea the bulk purchasing is where all of these companies make their money! But I like the SHTF basic box. It's 19.99 a month and I always get my money's worth! Definitely a good investment!

And these boxes are addicting! Lol. I was getting 3 different ones a month at one point. I had to cut down, because the wife wasn't having it! Haha

I've got about 200litres of water (no room for any more than that). I treated the water with 2 drops of bleach (sodium hypochlorite) and stored in the dark. 3 years on and the water looks as clear as ever, no nasty floaty things developing like there use to be lol.

Nice brother! Water is some pretty important stuff! I'm going to get a still and one of these for emergency purposes! :-D



https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001AXLUX2/_encoding=UTF8?coliid=I3GOQMM52VYLO7&colid=3KSIONG2GPAR2

Only trouble is......................... we don't have a bath, only a shower cubicle lol.

I see. But it may still work! It might just be really tall! Lol

True, I suppose it's worth a try ;)

If all else fails, put it in a bed frame or the closet! Lol : P

I recommend a little of this to boost morale. I think it qualifies as a comfort item.

This could be a nice addition to the cache! Lol. I'm more of a rum guy myself, but The fireball would give you a nice kick start! Haha

Ok let's add graham crackers and marshmallows and now we are gonna party like it's 1999 again. LoL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70013.82
ETH 3766.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80