Down with flu

in #sick6 years ago (edited)

What's less fun than falling down a flight of stairs? For me, it's getting hit by the flu bug.

For some reason (probably hereditary, I was told) when I get it, the symptoms are exaggerated ten-folds compared to anyone else. I would launch into a sneezing fit frequently, with 10 or more sneezes in a row. Then the stream of mucus rolling out my nostrils feels like I am being dehydrated via my nasal passage, that is if my eyes are not already comically teared-up.

So if I am sensing an impending flu-tastrophe like I did last Saturday, I would immediately take precautions before it develops into full fledge misery.

The first measure is water, lot's of it, followed by a regime of Tan Ngan Lo medicated tea and home-brew Lemon Honey beverage. If sore throat is also in the prognosis, apple cider vinegar + honey will also be added to the regime with the occasional throat lozenges.

Tan Ngan Lo tea and a cup of lemon honey in the background, lovingly prepared by my wife.


Usually this combo would provide relief for a few hours before the symptoms return, and when they do they should be weakened versions of the previous bout.

But if they are not, or are coming back stronger than before, I bring out the big gun.

Xepa's Sedilix has been my go-to last resort for a while now when the home-brew remedies failed to do the job, or when I need a quick recovery due to various reasons. Why don't I take Sedilix as the first option? because a) I might develop a resistance towards it and b) it makes me drowsy.

Thanks to the combo above, I was well on my way to full recovery by Sunday noon (my longest record was 3 days. 3 hellishly miserable days.)

Malaysian weather is being a b*tch, so remember to take your vitamins and eat your fruits!

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Talking about the weather reminds me of ours! It's bitchy as well.

Wow, apple cider plus lemon will keep that in mind. I'm not sure we have your Tea though. Get well soon.

it's ACV + honey (not lemon) haha, I wouldn't know what will happen if you mix ACV with lemon lol

Tan Ngan Lo is a Malaysian product, but is also sold in a few other Asia countries. Unfortunately it seems Philippines is not one of them yet. Maybe you can find some local brands over there?

Guilty! Í did skim reading and did not even read it again. Good thing I'm not a doctor or I'd get in trouble. hahahaha. Knocks my head!

There are other types of tea here but I'm not sure which one is which!

I need to check up your other posts to be sure, but do you have a case of the "man-flu"?

The entire household fell one by one, just that my symptoms are more severe than others.

also,

https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2017/dec/11/stop-accusing-men-of-overreacting-man-flu-really-does-exist-claims-doctor

: P

Ha ha, Yes I did see that article! But it appears to preliminary and more research needed! But I also suffer from the same, family goes down but I'm the only one out for a week in bed!

Sorry to hear this, get well soon.
For us the flue ( influenza) is minor difficulty, almost no symptoms, but in an exchange a common virus comes with everything...
Take care.

Congratulations @dxn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00