You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Receiving Mail from Steemians Around the World!

in #silver6 years ago

Congratulations! That's kind of cool to see.

I actually have about 14 oz of silver in shot form, from when I used to cast the stuff. Interesting to work with, silver. Despite being a mostly colorless solid, it glows golden in its molten form.

Sort:  

hell yeah bud, you doing some home smelting?

Did you read those Twilight novels too many times and now you're melting silver to take out werewolfs?...lol

What did you cast with silver, I'm intrigued

Ha! With dyslexia and vision issues, I don't read much anymore.

As an undergrad, I studied industrial design and had an "art metals" class. I cast a couple things in silver, most notably a lost-wax process ring. It looked like a vine with leaves, but I didn't really think it through and the leaves were really sharp. It drew blood, the first time I put it on.

Another guy in the class cast a 2x3 Lego brick in silver, which was kind of awesome. I wish I could cast the remaining silver I have into Lego bricks, but I don't have the equipment.

We also cast copper and brass, but the light coming off the molten silver was my favorite by far.

It certainly does give off a beautiful glow when molten! Gotta watch out for those sharp leaves, but I bet it looked good.

While I haven't played with legos in years, well maybe a few times with my nephew, I would certainly build something fancy with some silver bricks..lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62120.17
ETH 3179.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75