Hey, Steemit, thanks for the free silver!!

in #silver8 years ago

I love silver.

I always have. I don't wear jewelry anymore, save for a stainless watch sometimes, but if I did, for aesthetics alone, I prefer silver to gold. To my eyes, gold usually looks tacky, especially on a man.

For hoarding purposes, gold is, of course, better. But that shit is expensive, so, I buy silver. When I have enough ounces of silver to trade for an ounce of gold, I'll probably do that. For #SHTF and #WROL purposes, small amounts of silver that can be easily traded are best.

The only thing better than silver, is free silver.

I wrote a few posts on here. Some made a few dollars. Some made less than a dollar. Whatever. I'm not a writer by any definition. Anyway, I decided to start powering down. First transfer to bitcoin netted me $14.11. The second transfer was for $13.45. Not much at all, but other than a little time, it cost me $0 to earn that. Since transferring $13~ at a time to my bank seems ridiculous, I've decided that I'm going to use my meager profits from the nonsense that I write here to purchase silver bars and rounds with bitcoin. The picture above is the first one. It came in the mail today. And it will always be my favorite. Maybe I'll frame it like businesses do with their first dollar. Here is the other side.

For a long time, I had been buying up scrap sterling silver from garage sales and Craigslist and melting it into bars myself. The silver necklace that I'm wearing in some of the pictures of myself that I've shared in posts on here found its way into one of those bars. I had amassed quite a bit, and then sold it all to help fund this thing that almost nobody cared about. Totally worth it.

I'm probably not going to mess with sterling anymore unless I can get it for just ridiculously cheap. It's easy to find, but melting it down into manageable bars was somewhat time consuming, and an extra expense. The first time I bought pure "fine" silver, I bought a 10oz bag of silver shot, mainly used by jewelers because it was the cheapest way to buy a decent amount at one time. It's not really supposed to have any investment value, because it doesn't have mint marks. I wasn't deterred because I'm interested solely in the melt value of the metal itself, and I melted it down into bars that can be easily tested. Here is the best looking one. It weighs 2.51 troy ounces.

I have a few others that are a little heavier, but they don't look as good. I've seen YouTube videos where people grind them and polish them simply to make them look nice and pretty, but again, I just want the metal.

I think I'm going to wait until I've transferred over $100 of Steem into bitcoin before I purchase the next batch of coins. Orders over $100 are free from the place I buy silver from, and that will help me maximize the amount of silver I can get at one time. Shipping for anything under $100 is almost $6, so if I wait until I have $100, I can get five coins for about the same price I'd have paid for four separately purchased coins. Which, if you've been following along, you'll recognize as more freer free silver. Double-free silver. Frilver.

Much Restecp

Thanks, Steemit, for helping me turn ham-fisted keystrokes into tangible things that have real value. Albeit incrementally.

Sort:  

Your silver looks gold. Does it cost more that way? ;)

Yes. But for you, only $5 over spot. Let me know how many you want and I'll place the order. Of course, I'll need the money up front.

Good deal keep it up Josh!!

I'll for sure try. Thanks.

Great post and happy to upvote. Did a recent post on SILVER. Check it out. Now following and looking forward to reading more of your posts. Catch us also on Twitter Twitter✔. Cheers. Stephen

I've got time before 2021 to accrue enough silver to retire on if it reaches $130/ozt. However, I wonder what inflation will do to the relative value. It would be extremely disappointing to have, say, $1M in silver, but still have to work because a loaf of bread of $5000.

What's going to happen is Silver will revert back to it's natural ~10:1 Gold/Silver ratio and an average home will cost ~500oz of Silver. Stephen

Free silver is the best silver! I have been accumulating for a few years. Silver is still very cheap. The current mining ratio is about nine or ten ounces of silver to one ounce of gold, but the dollar price is around seventy to one.

Silver is more rare than people realize.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75