How Got My Start and Why I Collect Silver/Gold

in #silver7 years ago (edited)

How I started is not much different than many in the community. My grandfather gave me my start in collecting coins
when I was young. What interested me was just how many coins he had and how consistent he was in pursuing his collecting.

Each week, after cashing his paycheck, he would come home from the bank with a handful of wrapped coins. After dinner, I would head upstairs to my grandparents house, coin books in hand, and we would sit at the table and go thru the rolls. It was during these search-sessions that he explained why he removed all the silver coins and replaced them with the current coins- coins containing lesser metal value. This lesson was one of many that stayed with me to this day.

Here are a couple images of a few of the newest additions to the collection.

IMG_3454.JPG

The Eagles were random pickups from Ebay (both slightly under spot with free shipping) and the "junk" silver was a lucky find. Going to my son's baseball game, I parked in a residential area and passed a yard sale. $6 later, I added a tarnished 1964 half and two quarters (46 & 50)

IMG_3461.JPG

The last addition is, IMO, more of a piece of silver artwork... with a political slant. I love SSG's approach to exposing the banksters, government and the behind the scene players. Hopefully, I will have more images of the shiny stuff to share in the next few days.

Sort:  

Cool lesson to learn for your grandpa. I have a gold bracelet chain left by my grandma after she passed away with a receipt of it when she brought it. I think it is her own way of teaching her grandchildren the value gold. Up vote your post.

My dad received what was left of the collection after my grandparents passed away. It was much smaller than the collection I remembered as a child. I guess over the years, loss of interest and financial emergencies forced him to sell of parts of his collection. At some point, I guess my dad will leave the collection to me and my son, who is now learning the truth about fiat money and storing PMs. Thx for the upvote!

wish I knew or remember that magical moment when I got into stacking/collecting PM's! ....Maybe a tube of silver eagles bopped me on the head. Anyway 500oz later I am basking in the light of sound money.

500oz? Nice!!
The biggest lesson from my grandfather came with a story of depositing 300 silver dollars into his bank account. The teller wrote a check for the $300 and kept them for herself. When he asked why, she said because they're silver and the paper is just that...paper. It changed the way he viewed money and that was still back in the day of silver certificate paper.

I am a stacker as well! Thanks for the "follow", and I got you Back!

Let's stack and blog TOGETHER! Strength in Numbers :D

Agree and welcome to the community!

Thanks! I have been a stacker for quite some time, also as a child (15 at least).
I am now stacking to augment my future retirement ;) I will go as soon as I can,
which will be 3 more years. Still quite young, however!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68461.58
ETH 3854.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63