WEEK 3 of #sixweekhealth challenge: How to de-stress

in #sixweekhealth6 years ago (edited)

My personal de-stress recipe

I have to admit: I am far away from being a "how to de-stress" - expert! I am that kind of person who wants to be part of everything, who often happens to struggle at many balls at once, who can't say "No" to an invitation and who still wants to have time for sports, studying, reading and so on.
The thing is: I love the endless possibilities life has in store for us, I love hanging out with my friends, I love to see as many different and new things as possible and to enjoy the freedom student life brings with it.
Nevertheless, from time to time, it's just too much.
Heading from one thing to the other, always with a look at the watch, not able to enjoy one event because of having already the next one I my mind.
That's when I recognize, I have to lower speed, take some time for myself and take a step back.
By and by, I have discovered my own recipe to focus on the essential and get my head free:

Step 1: Sports and nature

What nearly always helps me to sort my thoughts is to go outside and do some sports.
No matter where, no matter what.
The more exhausting and the less other people, the better. Especially being in the mountains often brings my mind down to the ground.

IMG_0920.jpg
Click to see in full dimension

The imposant and majestical impression of the mountains reminds me of how small and irrelevant my problems are in comparison to the big picture.

IMG_0903.jpg
Click to see in full dimension

The view over the endless expanse, gives me the feeling of having everything under control and standing with both feet firmly placed in life.

IMG_0958.jpg
Click to see in full dimension

Achieving the top of a mountain, I feel I can reach anything. I just have to be patient and go on: Step by step.
One thing after the other, just keeping a clear head.

IMG_0278.jpg

And the most important thing: not taking life to seriously. Failure happens, it will always do.
But what sports teaches you, is the way to handle a setback. No matter, how often you fall, you always have to get up once more - with a smile on your lips.

Step 2: Music

Another important thing in my life is music. No matter where I go, you will find me with headphones in my ears.
To me, music has the power to change my mood within seconds. It is a support in every situation, can comfort or motivate, calm or activate you, make you happy or sad and express feelings in an unique way.
It is of no importance if listening to music, singing myself, playing the piano or guitar - music is one of my most loyal companions.

27939342_1852414381449502_475142836_n.jpg

Step3: Writing

Another effective way to get my thoughts sorted, is writing them down. It often is an overcoming for me to really do so, but after writing everything down that comes to my mind, I always feel a little lighter. Even when I don't know what to write about when starting and everything seems confused and a mess of topics and feelings in my head - while writing, a thread occurs and at the end I always come to a conclusion.

27847764_1852402554784018_653529115_n.jpg

Step 4: Stress- free thinking

To conclude, no matter what helps you to achieve it, the goal of de-stressing always is to get a free mind, a clear head, to have things straighten out with yourself. If you are able to keep an order in you head, the stressing things around can't harm you.
I believe, one can learn to control their thoughts and to lead them in a relaxed and stress-free way. Of course, this is a long process, which will maybe even take a life-time.
But to have realized, it is ourselves, our own mind, who make the stress and it is on us to change this, is already the first and most important step.

28001040_1853149808042626_1754111959_n.jpg
Click to see in full dimension


Thank you!

Thanks a lot to @healthsquared and @sweetsssj for making me think about these important parts of my life through their #sixweekhealth challenge and thereby already de-stressing a bit ;)

Sort:  

Thank you :))

Another great post coco :)

Thanks a lot :)

Just reading this is therapeutic. Simple, and available to everyone. Well, save the mountains that is....

I am happy you liked it! You are right, the mountains indeed are a really special phenomena!

Pięknie! Pozdrawiam✋

Maybe you could write that again in English? :P

Nice post! Regards :-)

haha alright, thanks then! :)

Love nature & music for destress

This is really awesome ! Love your post and pictures so much !hope u can win the contest

Thank you very much, I feel honored :)

Great photos!

We have the same de-stress recipe. And it works every time :)

Congratulations @co-co! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues
Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @co-co! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65955.88
ETH 3055.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69