Digital Painting - Oldest Viracocha deity of the Inca culture

in #sketch6 years ago (edited)

Hello my friends from Steemians. I am honored to present the latest illustration that I made to one of the most representative person sajes of the Inca Culture, is Viracocha their oldest god. I spent almost a week illustrating trying to faithfully keep the design as the original, and motivated because there are very few digital painting references of everything related to the Incas.

Door to the sun

Source

Apu Qun Tiksi Wiraqucha in Quechua language, the name applied in Spanish is Viracocha and in English viracocha, which means breeder of all things, for this fascinating culture this was the being in which they deposited all their faith.
According to the latest carbon 14 tests it was possible to verify that the fragment engraved on a vessel is at least 2500 years before Christ, remaining as the oldest deity of the peoples of South America.

My inspiration was the door of the Tiahuanaco sun, located in Bolivia in the department of peace about 10 km from the famous Lake Titicaca, this culture was pre-Inca and on the lintel of its door has engraved the sphinx of Viracocha. This door was carved in only one piece, it is of andesite stone and weighs 10 ton, it is believed that it belonged to a superior structure.

It is interesting how from that god, a kind of code was created which followed the Incas in their culture, praising the figure of this god considered the oldest of all, the creator of the world according to the cosmovision of that time. The sad thing is to see how works in design are elaborated with cultural elements of other parts of the world, to me especially the Inca culture calls my attention, I like very much his work in confection of design of his deities, as well as the architecture, for that reason I saw myself in the obligation as southern of America to pay homage to these artists of the past. The abstract to illustrate the handling of the lines to compose and the immersed symbology makes it an art worth appreciating.

How I did it - step by step

To make these illustrations I use as a program Illustrator portable cs5 excellent performance I still find it despite the outdated version, but that does not matter, it has the tools I need to work my digital paintings.


Viracocha's head in process

finishing the trunk


My reference were some images that I could find on the Internet and imagination, I feel that, if imagination is not magic when representing deities, I try to submerge myself and think that I am the original creator of the bas-relief, that I like very much when composing especially very old cultural things.


showing the anchor points.

silhouette of the angel that accompanies Viracocha


As usual I like to start with the contour or the top to have a little clearer of how the piece should be, among other things use the tool pen and vectorice by hand, point to point, angle by angle, if true is more tedious, but you have more control and freedom when making adjustments.

First make Viracocha alone and then illustrate a character that accompanies the god, is like a kind of angel, by the way, when the Spaniards arrived, the Incas thought it was Viracocha, this due to the armor and military suits that they had in the encounter and this fit perfectly because according to the mythology Viracocha was a white being and came from the sea, so the Spaniards were received as some gods in the first contact.


it is recurrent to see in the Incan designs the use of birds and pumas.

Finished Angel


Now I continue, in short, I spent almost a week trying to represent the best possible. What you see in the central drawing is like a fragment of the wall. So you can better appreciate the motif, if you had done the whole wall you would not be able to distinguish the drawing in good terms.

vector lines about to be grouped.

I am very excited, I feel that I will be a good time illustrating these images that are so needed on the net. I hope you liked it. See you soon.

Sort:  

Hello @isnaldo, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61