A bit about my process

in #sketch5 years ago

I added this image on my first post and now I want to talk a bit about it. It's my latest work and I've just finished it during the past weekend!

I use to start drawing on my sketchbook; some of my drawings just stay unfinished and sometimes I feel like I want to add more details and digital colors. Most of my inspiration comes from music, I was listening to various songs from an industrial metal band to create this one:

Process1.jpg

For digital colors I like to use Photoshop, but recently I found a software called Krita, it's really good and it's free! I recomend it if you like to draw and paint.

As you can see, this piece was going to be so different. I didn't like it much and I decided to start again. I wanted something "old and rusted" I thought this looks like plastic.

Process1_2.jpg

Everything on Krita is almost the same than Photoshop, so I create a new layer to add the base colors.

Process2.jpg

Then I create a new layer and I start working on the lightning, shadows and details!

Process3.jpg

I continue adding extra details and corrections. It's always a good idea using new layers.

Process4.jpg

And finally I created a new "Overlay" layer to add a bit of color!

Process5.jpg

And that's a quick review of my favorite process. Some of my illustrations are completely done using the software, but I enjoy a lot mixing traditional + digital.

Thanks for watching! :)

Sort:  

this is awesome :) im learning photoshop and its so hard haha. yours look so good

Congratulations @madstalfos! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @madstalfos! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @madstalfos! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01