Summer 2018 Sketches and Poem by enternamehere

in #sketchbook6 years ago

Looking Through the Summer Sketchbook

steemit-enternamehere-summer2018-sketch-micron-preview.jpg

As summer shifts to autumn, now seems like an appropriate time to share some sketches from earlier this season.

At the beginning of July I shifted focus from making artistic things and began working full-time for a local HVAC company. In August I committed myself to going to the gym 5 days a week. And earlier this month (September) I eased back into a steemit routine by posting about Pizza Night and my Week in Pictures.

With all the schedule changes this summer, I never got around to posting any of my most recent art -- fiddlesticks!

Let's remedy that situation.

steemit-enternamehere-summer2018-sketch-micron-choices.jpg
This is a sketch I made while exploring different ideas with perspective. The little figure on the rope has a lot of options here.

steemit-enternamehere-summer2018-sketches-still-life-everyday-objects.jpg
Some ordinary everyday objects - a jug, some light fixtures, and a cart with a tool handle.

steemit-enternamehere-summer2018-sketches-micron-sky-face-sunflower-faces.jpg
Nice hair, sir. This one I'll just leave open for interpretation.

steemit-enternamehere-summer2018-sketch-micron-human-silhouettes-faces-continuous.jpg
Here are some sketchy humanoid figures in a kind of silhouette style

steemit-enternamehere-summer2018-sketches-incomplete-royal-plants.jpg
An unfinished piece with potential. This was started before I started lifting (weight) and strengthening myself at the gym. All those tiny pen strokes caused considerable discomfort in my wrist an forearm, so I set it aside as it is. After a few weeks at the gym, I've noticed less pain while doing things like typing and writing, so maybe one day this piece will become a finished work. Maybe :^P

steemit-enternamehere-summer2018-sketches-micron-ink-unnamed.jpg
Doodles like this one are a good way to zone out and concentrate at the same time. The red color is an ink wash.

steemit-enternamehere-summer2018-sketch-micron-man-woman-fancydress.jpg
What a jeer he's wearing! That's okay, she doesn't seem to notice or mind.

steemit-enternamehere-summer2018-sketches-micron-ink-dreamstate-room-plants.jpg
A personal favorite from this selection of sketches. The swirling lines on the right side add a whisper of intrigue, and the bold contrast takes a liking to my eyes.

steemit-enternamehere-summer2018-sketch-micron-faces-loose.jpg
Here I was working on sketching with a loose style, but still coherent and some faces happened.

steemit-enternamehere-summer2018-sketches-10minute-blind-draw-camera-man.jpg
This is the result of an experiment with blind drawing AND continuous line drawing. It was a real challenge, and this technique is still in the early experimental stages. The end result is a little bit goofy, but still kind of fun, so he can stay.

steemit-enternamehere-summer2018-sketches-illustrated-haiku.jpg
morning rays puncture
the still clear darkness of night
unfinished business



All of these sketches were done on paper using micron (or equivalent) and/or ink wash. All of these sketches are original to me, enternamehere/SCB.

What are you looking forward to doing this fall (or spring)?

Thanks for your support!


Related enternamehere material for your perusal

? A Week in Pictures | Mid September 2018 in DFW
? Pizza Night: Anthony’s Eatalian, Dallas, TX
? A Week in Pictures | Early September in DFW
? Pizza Night: Two Guys From Italy in Dallas, TX
? A Week in Pictures | Late August in DFW

Sort:  

That perspective one is awesome XD I think the dreamy room evaporating one is my favourite from this set as well :)

Careful not to overdso the gym if you're going every day. Yay for more strength and less RSI :D

Thank you so much for your comments. It feels good to share some art again.

Yes, down with RSI!! :-)


Tu artículo ha sido votado por el proyecto CELF, curaduría de artes visuales, plasticas y escénicas, música y literatura, y será difundido para recibir votos de mayor peso. Te invitamos a nuestro servidor de discord: https://discord.gg/fC5jcDF


Hi entie! Long time no see o/

Wonderful post with really very lovely drawings <3 The first one is really amazing and captures a sense of incredible depth <3 but i love all of them :)

the one with the red ink wash reminds me a bit of @krasnec 's style :D

and the room with the abstract swirl on the right feels like it's half reality and half dream :D

very nice, all of them <3

.... this spring, im looking forward to being able to do my new job .... (just started this week)... aaaaaaah i donno how to do anything at all yet (SO STRESSED OUT)!!!!

Hello, miss spider, and thank you for the compliments! Your comparison to krasnec, wow that's awesome :D

You started a new job? That's always exciting! Are you still in the same field as your previous position? With your winning personality you're sure to succeed in whatever you do. Woo-sah, you got this! 😎

I hope that you will finish that unfinished 'business' as I can't wait to see how it will continue..

The first sketch looks like a LOT of work! I didn't notice the man on the rope at first.. When I read about it I went back to look for him and there he was!! :)

Thank you for sharing!

Thank you for having a look at the sketches. One day I might get back to finishing them. For now they're waiting quietly in the book.

The man on a rope took a few sessions for sure. Imagine being on a rope dangling in front of all those tunnels!

Thanks again, take care.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kristyglas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

woaaa the first one is just brilliant! It reminds me of overthinking the many options or possible outcomes, while you can just pick something and go with the feels.

The bedroom is really neat. You also have a good eye for detail and contrast.

The swirling lines on the right side add a whisper of intrigue

I was trying to describe it, but this is exactly it.

Great to see some of these!

I'm definitely with you on that first one and the respresentation of choices. Maybe he's climbing up or being lifted up past all the dark tunnels of life, rather than descending on the rope choosing one. Who knows?!

Thanks for stopping by, I always appreciate your support, even though sometimes I get slow on the reply.

Btw, I saw you shared your full-length Oxygen. And I'm really looking forward to hearing it on the stereo when I get a minute! If the first few tracks are any indication, it is going to be rilly gud. Take care, Benja! 😁👋

Maybe he's climbing up or being lifted up past all the dark tunnels of life, rather than descending on the rope choosing one.

That gives a different perspective aswell, I like that idea. Your art and good character always brings me back to your posts.

And thanks! It's a long project, but it does maintain the level of the first few tracks :).

Safe!

These are gorgeous, love your style! I really enjoy your perspective study piece. Your intricate unfinished piece also catches my eye, I would love to see it finished!

Those are really amazing. You have so much talent. Wish I could draw a bit better. Then again, as they say, practicce, practice practice. Fall short on that one a LOT. I really like your favorite, I call it Night of Odd Dreams In A Santa Fe 60's House. Can't help myself. Your whimsy comes out in so many directions. LOVE that little guy on the rope. So creatively fun...

A sincere thanks to you for your comments. It's a real pleasure to share these, especially since I have less new work coming out now. Whimsy! Yeah it's everywhere, it can get you if you don't watch out. =^)

Your talent comes out in your writings, as you have invested so much of your time there! And your drawings are cute, I like 'em.

Thank you, that's very nice to hear. Both are fun, but writing is the main branch of creatatude. And photogs. But that drawing is so much fun too.
And as for whimsy, the world needs all it can get in my book. And here's to hoping one day we will see much more new art from your mind and fingers. It's always enjoyable.

The drawings are all so different and unique, each one alluring in its own way. I really love these. Hope you find the time to keep drawing. I know it can be hard when working full time!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah, thank you for dropping a line. I really appreciate your comments. As great as it is to break from Steemit, coming back to familiar accounts always induces a smile. Good to see you again. When is the Halloween party this year? :)

Oh good, now I can vote your reply since I missed the time for the post. :-)

The Halloween party is coming up the last Saturday of the month. Not sure I'll dress up for this one. My niece is making costumes optional which is a relief, since I'd like to see everyone, but I'm working too much to think about what to wear.

How are you liking the new job? Are you doing installations or mostly admin stuff?

Yeah, a costume party is only fun if you go all out or dress completely normal. And seeing friends and family in a festive atmosphere will be good times, no matter what you're wearing. I'm looking forward to seeing your post on the party :}

The new job has been challenging at times, but I'm gaining valuable experience. Recently I've been at HQ a lot, doing paperwork and admin things. I am scheduled to help on a coil change-out later this week, which I'm looking forward to doing. Thanks for asking!

How's the fancy pipe business these days? You've got the holiday season right around the corner, has your workload increased lately?

Well the workload increased in June when my co-worker died and hasn't really let up since. (Someone called this a "battlefield promotion.") But it's all fun stuff. I really, really dislike everything about Christmas, but if there's any retail job in which it will be bearable, it'll be this one. When customers get obnoxious we just tell them to piss off.

Is a battlefield promotion a reason to congratulate?

At any rate, it seems like your store is a good fit for you. Luckily Christmas only comes around once every year. It'll be over before you know it!

I'll take your congratulations, thanks. And I'm grateful the boss lets me know he appreciates my efforts too. We do miss the old curmudgeon, a lot, but everyone knows he was poison for our online reviews. He could tell off customers in ways you wouldn't imagine, but he had a great heart. Which is ironic to say because that's what gave out on him.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83