A sketch on the historic day of Malaysia.

in #sketchnation6 years ago

As all of us might have heard, Malaysia have just experienced a historical event that might have become the beginning of greater things in the future. Majority of Malaysian is now celebrating our ease of mind, where i can imagine how did it feels waking up in the morning of 31st August 1957 to embrace ‘real independence’.

I want to share a lil bit of experience to be involve with General Election for my first time. I did not get the chance to vote 5 years ago as i did not register for voting when i flew abroad back then.

Ive got to vote at my hometown in Taman Melawati, Gombak, Selangor. Specifically in SMK Taman Melawati, where most of my friends went for highschool but not myself. I moved to a school in the heart of Kuala Lumpur, the Victoria Instituiton.

Nevertheless, the school did have some sentimental value for myself as ive been there countless of times for a lot of events and competitions. The fact that i pass through the school everyday also made the school very familiar to me.

So i went there in the morning after breakfast with my brother and our friend/neighbour to cast our vote.

We have to que at our designated zone, and apparently its the zone with the most people so the que is so longg. However, we were lucky as the whole que were under the corridoor shades!

So guess what? I didnt waste that long que hours with not sketching. Of course i brought my sketching kits. 😁

When i started my sketch we uploaded some wishes for all the voters through our KLSketchnation Instagram with some messages;

A32FB9B1-BF88-4555-8FAC-C4E92C0EFC29.jpeg

Hehe :p so i did a sketch of the building and the que lines there to kill some time.

5A2E1EAB-39BA-464D-A8CF-4197C05F3BEB.jpeg

I took barely 15 mins for the sketch and we were just few meteres forward in the que. So besides talking and having some reunions with long lost friends there, we start to play a game with my ipad.

ABE230D2-2665-4DE1-8E8F-3556B6A62A83.jpeg

We played RISK : World Domination, the board game. Lol.

So according to my stopwatch, we spend about 2 hour 30 mins until we reach the polling room.

F3A0942A-FBBA-49A8-9CB2-788162AD41DE.png

D50FD862-246D-4BE2-90F6-75AB99938895.jpeg

Inside the polling room.


When i came into the room for my turn, after checking my ID and all, i need to dip my finger into the electoral ink or indelible ink.

Me : hi can i have a lil bit of the ink on this sketchbook?
The Election Officer: No.
Me: hmm..

Then she dip my finger in the bottle. So i went to the voting booth and do my vote. Then inwent out and immediately smudge some undried ink to the sketchbook, just because. :p

F0CC6FA8-0051-4F6D-8B5A-08EED3CEC8CB.jpeg

41351B3E-D6EB-4FDD-AEEF-21507F590FBA.jpeg

I guess thats not so bad 😜

And then we finished the session of the day with ice cream.

B99127CA-CF37-459A-8F4F-FBD7FD5A92DA.jpeg

I cant believe its still RM2.00. ( equivalent to.. 0.152STEEM) after all these years.

Thanks for reading! And congrats to all Malaysian who have done your responsibilities! 😘

Untitled-1.jpg

Sort:  

Lukisan bro @kymio so cantik 😍😍😍 and the roti ice cream😆😆 really enjoy ur sketch :)

Hahaha thank you bro! The roti icecream is always my favourite since forever 😁😁😁😁😋

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

great sketch :)

by the way, we will also have our Election tomorrow here in the Philippines.

Thank you! Oh yeah? All the best and may the force be with you! 😁😁

wish i can sketch like you. hehe

May the force be with you. 😎😎

Omg the sketch is sooo cool! I am happy Malaysia is seeing good times now. Best of luck!

it has been too long for us since last we feel as good as now. Thank youu :)

Hi, do you have a discord account? It is for the Sndbox Summer Camp. Thanks!

Hi @anomadsoul , its kymio#2290 :)

That's a great way to remember this historical day @kymio.

Absolutely! Glad im not the only one who think like that 😁

Is that ice cream in a hot dog bun? Just curious. (Because that's a real odd combination here.)

Lol if you imagine a saugsage in there, yes it will be odd. Lol. But maybe think of a red bean bun or a chocolate bun, or eating ice cream with a cake..it does go well together lol 😂😂

That does make more sense. (Sigh of relief.) Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99