I'll Never Use Slack Again

in #slack6 years ago

noslack.jpg

My brother in law and I had a family channel on Slack, using their free plan, to let our family share, discuss and document all of the projects that we were working on (we're a family of builders and makers). I decided tonight, that I would start writing a blog post for Steemit on my experiences in building a 3d printer and since I had documented everything on Slack, I decided to use it as a template. I had been working on the post for quite a while when my memory failed me and I signed into Slack to check my old notes.

As I scrolled to the very top of the channel, but before I got back to the beginning, a notice popped up. It said "There is more to this channel. In order to access it, upgrade to one of our paid plans." I checked and double checked and there was no way around it that I could find. I HAD BEEN LOCKED OUT OF MY OWN CONTENT. Almost every post of substance on that channel had been made by me and I couldn't even look at the first posts I'd made. My blood pressure started to rise.

Yes. I was on the free plan. Somewhere in the fine print that are the Terms of Service, there is very probably something that says that this would happen. But, I didn't read the fine print and I didn't know. My bad. That's on me. My fault. What I do know that is that I cannot now get to content that I created and that is now in their possession and absolutely useless to me.

So, what's to be done? There's no way that I am paying 6 or 7 dollars a month in order to retrieve it. Not even for a single month. At this point, even though I know this is ultimately my own fault, I would consider anything paid to them to be a ransom for my data. I can rebuild all of the photos that I posted, since almost all of them were backed up to my cloud storage, phone or server. I can probably rebuild a good part of my content from memory, using the photos to jog my memory. In the end, I will probably manage to regain most of it. I'm not old and senile... not yet, anyway. But, there is still the fact that MY STUFF has been taken from me.

After giving the matter due consideration, I decided that I could replace everything I had lost and then proceeded to delete every login that I had on Slack, on every channel, on every group, etc. I will not be posting anything there in the future. My family can visit my website or Steemit account to see what I'm up to.

But, I'm going to turn this into a learning experience. From now going forward, I'm going to start paying more attention to the Terms of Service. Nothing is totally free, even on the internet and your data is only truly yours if you have backups and physical possession of it. If my contributions are going to be used by that company for the generation of revenue, I'm going to get my share of it or at the very least, receive enough in service to make our mutual arrangement beneficial and equal for both of us, and I will insure that I never again lose access to my original content and contributions, by at least having direct backups and preferably have an assurance from the company that if there is a free and paid plan, that the content on one will never shift to the other without some form of warning.

How successful will I be in this? I don't know. But, I do know that this will never happen to me again on Slack.

I'm not going back there, ever again.

Sort:  

Congratulations @conjada! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @conjada! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @conjada! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @conjada! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69995.16
ETH 3735.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74