Markets Crashing? Just HODL, Get Outside, and Go Sledding

in #sledding6 years ago

That's what I did today (it's a quick video of some pictures and memories captured on my phone this afternoon). I don't have many concerns about the cryptocurrency markets crashing the last couple of days because cryptocurrency is here to stay and in many ways this is still a "normal" correction. It's happened many times before with dips in the 40%+ range. Until the market cap gets large enough and enough people reject fiat currency as a valid store of value, this will continue to happen, just at higher and higher numbers. I did some bitUSD shorts and locked in BitShares for a long hold.

Watch this for perspective (and a laugh). It's less than a minute long:

I hope you HODL'ed. For those that don't know the origins of HODL, read this thread.

Speaking of whisky, it's like the best thing right after sledding. :)

I hope you're having a great day so far. I'm raising a glass to the hopes of a nice bull recovery in the markets.

Related post: The Big Question: Should You Sell or Hold During a Market Correction?

Oh, before I forget, if you're around this Saturday, please stop by the Steem Witness Forum on Discord including @jesta, @good-karma, @roelandp, @aggroed, @anyx, @ausbitbank, @someguy123, @followbtcnews, and myself. I'm truly honored and thankful to be included in such a great group of Steemians. I hope you can join us this Saturday, January 20th, at 11am EST (1600 UTC).


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, STEEM witness, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

That "crash" video was really funny! Definitely made me laugh. Long haul involvement in just about anything is where you really see value - in investments, in relationships, in social change - being involved over a long period of time makes a difference.

Thank you, sister. I can’t fully describe how much joy it brings me to see you here commenting. :)

...and another time... at band camp....

We crashed

...and another time... my friend.. at band camp bought some bitcoin....

...and it crashed

...and another time... my friend, who had a car...

It crashed

Moral of the story. Don't buy a car, cuz it could crash....

This guy is super smart.

By the way if you look at the video description on Youtube, the guy puts a BTC address up for tips. How does he expect to get any Bitcoin tips if he tells people not to buy Bitcoin? Seems ironic.

I guess you didn't get the joke or the massive amounts of sarcasm and irony in the video. I know someone who knows him, and he's a bitcoin fan and has been for a very long time. The point of the video is that it keeps going up over time (even with crashes). I think it's hilarious.

You had an unfair advantage. You know someone who knows him, and know that he's a bitcoin fan.

I had none of this knowledge just watching the video as is... :)

But thanks for the extra info, it helps to put it in perspective. :)

I found out about the relational connection after I shared it. The sarcasm and irony really wasn't completely obvious to you? That's surprising. Clearly the video shows BTC has gone up tremendously in value, even though it's volatile.

Very interesting. I find this kind of bearish market interesting. Is actually the best time to buy, so I always look forward to it. As long as I don't sell, I am good.
You had a good time sledding.

no sledding but i got into an epic snowball fight with my 3 year old :) hodling comes easy when you have the big picture in mind <3

HODL abd bought some more in flash sale. Always have cash in hand to buy the sale.

HODLing - a well-known a-la Buffet type of strategy tested by the time for every HQ asset to assure your future prosperity!... Stick to the plan: identify your crypto gems and add monthly a limited sum to buy them. You will save your time, your health and profits. Overtrading kills everything - your overall health and profits.

It's a great idea to have a video shared with us that your family's video is very good to me in my child's way.

Totally spot on and absolutely amusing video! Time to go sledding.

Bitcoin is not going to crash. Why: Because more and more companies have adoptedbitcoin as there payment mechanism, alot of people and wealthy people are starting to invest more and more into bitcoin the more it comes clear that the current currency system what is the corrupt euro/dollar is about to collapse because it is all a big ponzi only the banks, specificly the central banks benfit from and so now even entire countries are adopting bitcoin (India and Dubai, more will follow) so the supply and demand from bitcoin will be bigger and bigger over time.Realise bitcoin and it's crypto technology will be our new financial future what will stop the corruptions from those central banks and will stop poverty: Because in it's core what does bitcoin provide? Ownership. Ownership to have wealth, financial freedom in your life and that is attractive to everybody that can now get a change of having that.
@lukestokes

Great positive blog! I too trust and believe that crypto and the blockchain technology is here to stay. With all the FUD out there it only makes sense to HODL and stay positive. Cheers!

I was so glad it crashed, i had saved up 3000 and was waiting for the right moment, put some in BTC and bought 1000 more Smartcash...
still a long way short of my 10k for a node but at least i can stake once the wallet transfer on hitbtc works again, lol

https://steemit.com/smartcash/@felander/its-good-to-be-smart-in-a-market-crash-today

at some point the only green thing in the charts was smartcash, thanks again for pointing me in their direction

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17