Under the Knife

in #sleep-disorders7 years ago (edited)



One week ago,

on Friday morning after a week of conferencing with the crypto industry at Consensus 2017 and Token Summit, I made the move to have a surgery that could change my life.

Normally, I can't stand going to the doctor.  When I do need to see a doctor, I've usually researched the symptoms for hours, downloaded several medical case studies and self-diagnosed so much that I tell the doctor exactly what the issue is in medical terms.

For the past three years I suffered from sleep apnea caused by turbinate hypertrophy. This affliction was a burden. I was waking up groggy most mornings, as if I had been out all night out.  This was difficult to deal with - often the lack of good sleep could cause me to feel I needed doze off sitting or standing, at the worst moments - sometimes on business trips or sitting at my work station.  But I battled through.

With this particular issue, I had avoided the doctor for so long and tried so many over the counter treatments, mostly sprays and then later anti-histamines, that I had at different moments become addicted.  One of these drugs in particular, oxymetazoline, often known by Afrin, got me addicted.  That was bad.  Even though it helped me sleep, the dependency on it made me think about the drug and my nose all the time. And eventually I would need oxymetazoline in the middle of the night - so it stopped helping the symptoms I began taking it for.

I kept researching and doing experiments on my nose with these drugs and I eventually realized what I needed to do. I contacted a well regarded ENT surgeon.

After consulting the surgeon, I was able to undergoe a debreeding operation on my nasal turbinates to remove a portion of the mucosa that was swelling during sleep.  

Finally, for the first time in three years, I've had awesome sleep.  I'm back to falling asleep between 11 to 12 and waking up at 6am.. naturally.


Fighting bad sleep over the years

has taught me how valuable sleep is to personal satisfaction and my ability to pursue everything I want in life.

I hope all my Steem friends and family are sleeping well, but based on statistics I'm going to guess a few of them may not be. A source on sleepapnea.org suggests that a staggering number of people suffer from sleep apnea, with 80 percent of the cases of moderate and severe obstructive sleep apnea undiagnosed.

Now, I'm not a doctor and there are several different issues that can cause sleep apnea, of which mine was only one, but if you're struggling with sleep like I was, there's tons of research available online, such as the articles on WedMd.com, that might help you find a solution.

Good night!

Sort:  

Wearing a helmet with a built in respirator also does wonders. Also makes your voice sound really cool...

If you'd like one, I've got a guy.

LOL. An intro to your guy would be great, asking for a friend..

If your "friend" is interested in something custom made, my guy can arrange that.

Screen Shot 2017-06-02 at 9.35.31 PM.png

I think I've seen your guy's work.

@ned I was about to send you a message asking some questions about Steemit inc and the pace of developement, but seeing this gave me a whole new insight that made me delay that.

My own sleep - as far as I know - have nothing to do with apnea, but I can empathize and sympathize with you having gone through this sort of thing. I still often wake up fully exhausted with pains in legs and arms that I can't fully explain, except they scream "you're dying", which is not a great feeling.

Thankfully I've been able to adjust my sleeping habits as of late with high doses of sleeping pills and a rigid schedule that I change for nothing except if I just can't sleep. Then I get up and go through a very specific "ritual" which I've hashed out over the years and that will most likely help me sleep within the next 2-4 hours.

Looking at things from a distance, I'm steadily getting better sleep, even though there are constant setbacks of course. It seems the pain in my legs and arms isn't going away fully, but I can live with that. In comparison to where I've been, I feel like a king and I've developed mental and physical tenacity that I think will serve me well in the future.

I hope you will reach awesome levels of energy and being now that you've had the surgery. You've earned it and that's the only worthy way to live anyways.

Cheers to great things in the future!

hi @the-ego-is-you. this minor health issue hasn't impacted development or business, thankfully, and fortunately, I'd been able to balance business on sub optimal sleep. it would take a much bigger issue for steemit not to be my number one priority

That's good to hear in many ways, but prioritize your health by all means.

I'm incredibly thankfull for the network that has been created for us here. But what is needed now - and I do think that I speak for a good number of Steemians when saying this, but also from experience in business - is a more appealing user interface.

I've noticed the same theme with both Bitshares and Steem: The technology is there, but the user interface appeals to a very select group of people. Techies or those that are already looking for alternatives to the giants, to be precise. But many individuals, if not most, do not care about what's under the surface. And to an extent, we can't demand that they should.

That's why when we talk about Apple or Steve, we don't normally think about Steve Wozniack. Though we should, but it was Jobs eye for design that made "Apple" as we know it.

I know that you understand and know this already. But I still wanted to say it. Now let's go out there and make history. Together. All of us.

Edit: Oh and please get on @steemittalk podcast soon, they're the best around here. Truly.

Above all, this is just the type of content I look for as a curator. Informative, engaging, yet personal. Glad to see you're sleeping well now. I hope you continue sleeping well when Steem goes viral :)

I'm happy for you Ned! Although I don't suffer from apnea, I know all too well how the lack of sleep affects ones life and well being.
Take care and enjoy them restful Z's ! 😴

I hope surgical advances along with better sleep understanding will allow you and others like you to enjoy the sleep everyone deserves. Best wishes.

@ned they say take a chill pill...get well soon...sleep is important for human body. This surgery should help you feel better and take rest.

I'm glad this procedure worked for you. Adequate sleep is so important for overall health and wellbeing. Except for a few years of a horribly stressful job I've been blessed with good sleep. CBD oil works very well for restful sleep too.

Yes, I second the CBD oil 👍🏻

It's a miracle for sleep!

A friend of mine had the exact same surgery. He did it for excessive cocaine use! I'm sure it's not connected.

But good luck, I hope you've battled your addiction away!

I'm just teasing :p

A pretty serious issue, glad you got the procedure sorted and can man up and publicly talk about it. Wish you the best.

Hey Ned, I found it interesting that I have something in common with you. I have suffered with nose ailments for a good portion of my life. I have also been addicted to Afrin. The rebound effects sucks!

For me there was a high level of denial involved but finally I had had enough. So, about 10 years ago I had surgery to remove nasal polyps. The surgery really helped. I still have issues now and then but it is much better than it used to be. Thanks for sharing your story.

Get well @ned, and rest. My mom had nasal polyp surgery she had a similar problem but in her case she lost all sense of smell. She went to a top doctor, but since there are a lot of nerves near the eyes she went blind after the surgery. This was over 10 years ago she has adapted now. I have sleep apnea. Anyway get some rest and get well soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68156.12
ETH 3727.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65