You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sleep Paralysis

in #sleep5 years ago

This used to happen to me all the time and it was just about always coupled with the same hallucination, a completely black "shadow man" approaching my bed or getting in the bed with me.

The first time this happened to me was in my teens. I was home alone. I woke up but didn't open my eyes at first because I felt a presence in my room. I cracked my eyes and saw a black figure walking across my room. Of course this scared the shit out of me because I knew no one was home but me. My mind raced as I thought about who it could be, how they'd gotten in, why the house alarm hadn't beeped, and in the couple of seconds while I was thinking about this the black figure climbed in the bed with me. I could feel the mattress depress and shuffle and everything.

Now I was really panicking. I didn't know if this person was going to stab me in the back, attack me, I had no clue what was going on, but I knew I had to act. I've been involved in martial arts for most of my youth and I had a sword at the foot of my bed, but in that moment if felt like it might as well have been miles away as it felt like I was going to be pounced on any second. So I figured I hit whoever it was first to give myself time to grab the sword then hopefully fight for my life before I was killed. So I spun around striking with all my strength into an empty bed.

Soooooo yea, this was a totally traumatizing experience, and it was months before I was able to sleep well again. I didn't hear about sleep paralysis until more than a decade later as an adult and I thought it had to be a ghost or demon, and I hadn't even before believed in anything like that, but that experience made me a believer.

Over the years, this happened several more times, but I sort of got used to it, and found a hack that if I fell asleep with the TV on it didn't happen, but umm yea...cute cats :)

Sort:  

Damn, lol. Now I kinda wish I hadn't read the comments until a few more nights of normal sleep. :D

Lol. Usually I read people can't force themselves awake in this state, but you seem to have managed it pretty easily with practiced motor control.

Posted using Partiko Android

Actually that was one of the other hacks I learned. If I tried to move normally I’d be stuck, but when I flail violently I learned I could “break the spell”.

Woww, note taken. Become a savage cat and ravage the paralysis!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61674.06
ETH 3067.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81