CAN'T SLEEP, WONT SLEEP

in #sleep7 years ago (edited)

I would say good morning as I usually do, however, judging from this title, you can probably guess I’m half asleep and a bit grumpy… just ask my husband!

Last night I was wide awake!!! Why is it when you have had a busy day, you are daydreaming about hitting the sack and then BOOM! the mind turns on all the lights and decided to have an all nighter? Sucks doesn’t it!

Well let me tell you… I tried to knock myself out by reading. Social media, news channels, amazon, eBay! Granted, not the best reading I could have done to make myself tired. Maybe I should have picked up my Martina Cole book - The Faithless. I decided to turn everything off at 12:10am and put my sleeping mask on, grab my hot water bottle and snuggle into bed. This should work, shouldn’t it? Wrong!

I tossed and turned all night. I went back to my phone countless times. Social media really is like a fridge. You keep opening it to see if there is anything good inside, but it’s still the same old shit.

1am, 2am, 3am passed! Seriously??? Surely at some point the lights will go off and the music will stop. That’s another thing. When I am awake I get countless earworms going on. Random songs that I have heard throughout the day decide to play in my head on loop. I wouldn’t have minded if it was classical. No such luck! Deep, dirty house music was going on!

I did at one point drift off… not for long though. I woke up to the sound of my cat yakking up a hairball! I tried to pick him up and put him out into the bathroom. At least that had a tiled floor, not like my cream carpets! Too late… biggest, grossest, wet hairball landed on the floor. Now I had to get up to scrub the carpet. Thanks! I did manage to get back into bed and find a comfy spot, but as you can imagine, my cat thought he was the dogs balls. He went into his litter tray. I knew what this meant. If I didn’t get up and close the door he will come bundling back into the bedroom, jump on my bed and leave lots of litter everywhere! I got up as fast as I could when heard the scraping of his paws in the tray. Not even greased lightning would have beat me. He did though! He didn’t even finish what he was doing before he ran and jumped on the bed. I shouted at him, picked him up and threw him out of the room.

I have no idea what time it was now, but I knew it was getting close to my alarm going off. It started to look light outside. I closed my eyes just to cram in what I could. I did fall asleep for just under an hour. When I woke up, all I remember was I had dreamed about going into my old employment, with a girl I used to work with years ago and everyone had to bring in food to the office. Both the girl and I had brought in a pack of raw chicken pieces. Random or what?

Right, well that’s all for now Steemers. Time for me to get to work. I have a busy day ahead of me! Caffeine at the ready!

Sort:  

Insomniac here too...it sucks ass, but at least you're able to laugh about it 👍Your day/night brain gif is exactly how I feel. Hope you don't suffer from RLS as well, the proverbial cherry on top?

Hey, thankfully I don't suffer RLS. It would be the cherry on top wouldn't it? Maybe we'll both sleep better tonight 👍👍

Good God I hope so 🙂

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Oct 05. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.04 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 05 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @steemed-proxy valued at 53.57 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

Congratulations @platinum-blue, this post is the eighth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 834 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $4601.05. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97