Can't sleep properly? Me too, I have sleep apnea.

in #sleep6 years ago

Hi all,

I have to admit, I have had sleep apnea for years, but never did anything about it. That was until earlier this year when I discussed it with a friend. He told me he also has it and it was bad, I mean really bad. Doctors first thought he had other issues and tested him for cancer. With clear results, they then thought it was the way he slept. So he did a sleep test and they discovered his terrible sleep cycle. His health and energy level is better than before.

Before going further, let me tell you what sleep apnea is. According to Wikipedia apnea 'is suspension of breathing. During apnea, there is no movement of the muscles of inhalation, and the volume of the lungs initially remains unchanged. Depending on how blocked the airways are (patency), there may or may not be a flow of gas between the lungs and the environment; gas exchange within the lungs and cellular respiration is not affected. Voluntarily doing this is called holding one's breath.'

My friend's success encouraged me to do the same; a sleep test. I found out that normal people may stop breathing 4-10 times an hour. When my test results came back, it showed I would stop breathing up to 50 times an hour, depending on my sleep position. Sleeping on my sides I was normal, but sleeping on my back meant it was really bad.

Now I use a special machine called a CPAS machine, and I have a small device that pumps air into my nose. It looks like I have a small scuba regulator.

The difference in sleep now is much improved. It also means I have a proper sleep cycle, and I wake up feeling better, and with more energy.

If you, or someone you know, snores or wake up tired, get them to a doctor and have them do a sleep test. Chances are they have some form of sleep apnea.

Thanks for reading!

Steven photo.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68518.46
ETH 3760.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66