Who needs sleep? I do.

in #sleep6 years ago

I was struck this afternoon by this article in Time, particularly this paragraph:

Another factor to consider: When it comes to sleep, need and ability are two different things. “It’s pretty clear that sleep ability decreases with age,” says Michael Grandner, director of the Sleep and Health Research Center at the University of Arizona College of Medicine. Many older adults assume that their inability to sleep soundly or for extended periods is a sign that they don’t need as much rest. But that’s probably not true, Grandner says.

Pexels has lots of cats sleeping, but no old people.

I have multiple sleep disorders, and in response I get pretty obsessive about sleep. I'm definitely a maximizer on this one; I've set up my life so that I have to wake up to an alarm maybe a half-dozen times in a year. I'm a very strong believer in getting as much sleep as I can. Between that and the cyclic sleep disorder my schedule is rarely consistent, but it's usually well-rested, and that's more important to me.

But as I'm rising forty, as they used to say, I'm finding that as much sleep as I can get often isn't enough. I still typically get six to seven hours, but my needs when I was younger were much more in the neighborhood of ten. I think work to breathe a little better reduced that to eight and a half or nine, but seven still really isn't cutting it. I'm finding myself with less focus, more fatigue, and tired eyes almost all the time.

I also have chronic pain issues, which don't help when they're flaring, as they have been all summer. And while there's some work I can do, and am doing, to improve that, it's not something that's going to get better as I get older. Plus I have another debilitating neurological condition somewhere in my future based on what my dad has been going through the last few years. Sleep is only likely to get more difficult.

So I need a plan, and probably should be working on that fairly soon. Simply sleeping as much as my body will let me has been reasonably effective up to this point, but as I age and my ability to sleep for long periods of time debilitates, that's not going to continue to be functional. I need to figure out some way to sleep actively, not it the way that restless leg motion has made me an active sleeper, but intentionally and strategically.

I'm not really even sure where to start on that, but every journey begins with an intention.

Sort:  

I don't use it, but I've heard non-addictive melatonin can really help.

Melatonin sometimes allows me to get to sleep more easily, but it doesn't help me sleep longer. Unless I mix it with NyQuil in which case I have fifteen hours of extremely weird dreams.

Hmmm...maybe it's the additives in the Nyquil. Try Melatonin and a shot of whiskey...?

I am fortunate I generally sleep pretty well, My wife has big issues she used Melatonin, but these days even that is not enough she didnt want to but now uses sleeping pills

It is so true that to make the intent is the first step to change. You realize you need a difference in your current way of being and then you set about trying to actualize it. And even if you fail along the way, just regroup, readdress and move forward.

I, too, have set up my life to be pretty alarm free for the most part, however, I am a morning person by habit and inclination and find myself almost always sleeping the same schedule. Now that can change when I change location, but usually my body will set that rhythm.

The biggest change I noticed was when I completely changed my diet about 8 months ago. I slowly reduced carbs and caloric intake, slowly and not in a crazy way, and found my sleep even improved. It's all trial and error, so go forward and keep that intent!

Also adorable cat!

Yeah, there's definitely a connection for me between digestion and sleep quality. I don't have it quite pinned down yet.

I do pretty much all the non-medical stuff for sleep. Very dark, very cold, memory foam mattress and pillow, weighted blanket, brown noise machine, nasal rinse before bed to clear out sinuses as much as possible. I haven't had good results with supplements.

But even so those are all second-order effects (at least for me) compared to the biggies like lowering stress, keeping weight down, controlling light exposure, and making a habit of going to bed early.

every journey begins with an intention.

Good luck with your sleep journey!

I do all of that except the nose machine and the nasal rinse. I'm off and on with the weighted blanket, sometimes it's really helpful and sometimes it keeps me awake.

I had a weighted sleep mask for a while and should probably get a new one, that was really helpful.

I have 'some' trouble sleeping and definitely pain issues as well. I'm researching 'weighted blankets' right now, they should help you sleep especially if you're in pain. I have not made a definitive decision yet but maybe it's a direction that you'd want to research for yourself with your own knowledge about yourself in mind. See if it resonates.

(Oh, I'm now seeing another comment mentioning the blankets :-) Well, posting it anyway, this is what I wanted to say <3 Hope you'll find your way!)

Yeah, I have one. If you can borrow one and try it out before buying, I definitely recommend it - they can be really good but it feels weird, especially if you move around a lot while asleep as I do. Sometimes I really like it and sometimes I really don't. And they're not cheap.

True, they are not cheap, that's what's keeping me from buying one. But your tips are great, I'll definitely try testing one before buying :-) Very curious, I imagine it's relaxing, but I've read more people say the turning around is too weird for them.

I also have a sleep disorder that makes my life very irregular for its long-term effects.

Several times my intention to sleep regularly went well. I drink chamomile tea and keep away all mobile devices that can tempt us at any time to see it again.

The important things that help me sleep well are turning off the room lights and listening to classical music.

I am 41, and I take cholesterol meds that help me sleep, and I also take melatonin. I also have sleep apnea, so I don't really get the sleep I should in the first place.
I have found that the melatonin helps me fall asleep quickly, but not stay asleep. I haven't found a solution for this problem yet...
Any ideas, please pass them along...

I think I still have some level of sleep apnea, but a few years ago I had my tonsils and adenoids removed, and my nasal turbinates shaved, and that helped a great deal. Neal's comments here are pretty good in terms of general advice.

There are times that I wanted to sleep but I just cannot. I exercise to tire myself, I read, etc. to no avail. Sometimes I can only get 4 hours of sleep at the most and I am not rested. I even tried over-the-counter medications but it will only be effective up to a certain point. When I do get longer hours of sleep, it is still not enough.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Sounds like it would be good to consult a good sleep doctor, if you have one available.

I've found that the trick to getting to sleep is trying to stay awake, and the trick to staying awake is to try to go to sleep. Making use of that isn't always easy, though.

When I was younger, that worked for me lol! I guess it was the accumulated shift in work throughout the years which threw off my bioclock.

I want to avoid doctors as much as possible but I am open to the idea. I would have to look for a good one.

I’m been trying to survive sometimes off of 2-4 hours a night. The older I get the harder it seems to be able to function with less. So I can more than understand that. I also don’t consume coffee or anything else to help stay awake. Some people I’m not quite sure how they sleep with the insane amount of coffee or other stuff they consume daily.

If I was smarter I would set a cutoff time every night for steemit related activities and other stuff I do late at night. Set up a more normal sleeping schedule and try to developed a better sleeping pattern so I’m not struggling like an ant on todays like today.

But I’m not. I sometimes go to bed at 2 Am and other times I’m getting up at 2am. Other times I could be sleeping by 8pm or as late in the morning as 7am. Every day is different. Which is a horrible way to go about it.

For me at least if it’s raining outside I can fall asleep with easy. In fact that is when I tend to try and sleep if its late at night and still raining. Perhaps finding the right sound will be enough to try and ease this process. Get your mind somewhat off the pain you are having and focusing on something else.

For others I use to know it’s all about having the right mattress. I’ve known people who have to buy a new bed every 1 to 2 years. They swear it’s worth every cent it cost to update that often. Might also be something you want think about if it’s been a while. Creating the right setting to fall asleep, get into deep sleep, and stay there long enough is important.

I really love James Dueck's rain audio at http://rainymood.com/ for anytime rain would be helpful.

You got a 33.80% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tcpolymath!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50