Slothicorn Crypto Chart Art Contest: Art whale!

in #slothicorn-contest โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

Disclaimer: Some elements cannot be displayed in cellphones.

main banner  (1).jpg
๐ŸŸ๐˜‰๐˜ข๐˜ด๐˜ฆ๐˜ฅ ๐˜ฐ๐˜ฏ ๐˜ด๐˜ต๐˜ฆ๐˜ฆ๐˜ฎ๐˜ช๐˜ต. ๐ŸŸ

Hello magical creatures!!๐ŸŽ 

Welcome to the longest Art-process post ever! Go grab your favourite food, lay in your favourite comfy surface and read this 5 pages post of a traditional artist having her first cross-over process between traditional and digital art...

... or at least trying.

๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ

I know... I said in my last post that I don't know how to work with digital art, but there is always a first time for everything, right? Well, this is my first time playing with Photoshop. I have to admit that I was really nervous: Photoshop for a newbie, with all those tools, layers and buttons, can be highly intimidating. But, wielding some youtube tutorials, I was able to come up with a cute wallpaper.

๐‘ป๐’‰๐’† ๐‘ช๐’๐’๐’•๐’†๐’”๐’• ๐ŸŽฃ:

U5dsp_HUNWEEwi_GZ1_Diuhs_UXHm_DCRNtr_1680x8400 - copia.png
This work is an entry for a @slothicorn awesome contest, in which the main goal is making a creative interpretation of the crypto currency chart (in this case, I choose Steem). The main goal is to educate people about cryptos with art (by making them popular) and also, blow our minds trying to figure how to work with it in the most creative way. You can find the main contest post in their fabulous account, in case you want to participate. They have good prices, good entries, and good vibes. The deadline is June 15th, 2018.

๐‘ป๐’‰๐’† ๐’Ž๐’‚๐’Š๐’ ๐’Š๐’๐’”๐’‘๐’Š๐’“๐’‚๐’•๐’Š๐’๐’ ๐ŸŽฃ:

This is one of those crazy ideas that come all of a sudden. If everything is fishi in steemit, and whales are the big ones in this ocean, how do the art whales look like? Since Slothicorn is an art curation project, and artist are considered as unicorns, I thought of mixing both concepts and draw one of my favorite weird animals, *the Narwhals*.

Copia (2)  de Narwhal.pnggiphy (2).gif
๐ŸŸ๐˜‰๐˜ฆ๐˜ฉ๐˜ฐ๐˜ญ๐˜ฅ! ๐˜ข๐˜ฏ ๐˜ข๐˜ถ๐˜ต๐˜ฉ๐˜ฆ๐˜ฏ๐˜ต๐˜ช๐˜ค ๐˜ฉ๐˜ฐ๐˜ณ๐˜ฏ๐˜ฆ๐˜ฅ ๐˜ธ๐˜ฉ๐˜ข๐˜ญ๐˜ฆ! ๐ŸŸ

There are a lot of jokes about narwhals and unicorns over there so, why not another one? This time, related to steemit. twice fun. Also, I wanted to put a bit of cosmic vibes here, so I used an outer space pic as a background, coloring the fishies with a cosmic palette (Magenta, dark blue, light blue, turquoise and violet).

But, no more explanations. Let's go down into this content ocean!

๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ
๐ŸŒ  ๐ŸŒ  ๐ŸŒ  ๐ŸŒ  ๐ŸŒ  ๐ŸŒ 

๐‘ด๐’‚๐’•๐’†๐’“๐’Š๐’‚๐’๐’”:

  • A pencil
  • My trusy markers (01 and 0.2) and colored markers with a thin tip.
  • A sheet.
  • Colored Pencils.
  • Colored pens.
  • A laptop with Adobe Photoshop Cs6
  • lots of patience, love and digital glitter.

banner process.jpg


๐ŸŒŠ ๐˜š๐˜ฉ๐˜ฐ๐˜ธ๐˜ช๐˜ฏ๐˜จ ๐˜ฎ๐˜ฐ๐˜ณ๐˜ฆ ๐˜ต๐˜ฉ๐˜ฆ ๐˜ฏ๐˜ข๐˜ณ๐˜ธ๐˜ฉ๐˜ข๐˜ญ, ๐˜ด๐˜ช๐˜ฏ๐˜ค๐˜ฆ ๐˜ ๐˜ฅ๐˜ช๐˜ฅ ๐˜ต๐˜ฉ๐˜ฆ ๐˜ด๐˜ข๐˜ฎ๐˜ฆ ๐˜ธ๐˜ช๐˜ต๐˜ฉ ๐˜ต๐˜ฉ๐˜ฆ ๐˜ณ๐˜ฆ๐˜ด๐˜ต ๐˜ฐ๐˜ง ๐˜ต๐˜ฉ๐˜ฆ ๐˜ง๐˜ช๐˜ด๐˜ฉ๐˜ฆ๐˜ด.๐ŸŒŠ

The eternal first step, the sketch. I had an idea of how I was going to use the crypto chart pic, so I drew it upside down.2.jpg
Then, I started my line shading journey, using more lines in the top (closer to his nose), since narwhals have dark heads.3.jpg
With the lines done, it needed a bit of color. I made colorful lines with the colored pen and markers.3.jpg

Almost done! now, all we need is some colored pencils action. Just some shadings its all we need, making it a bit more intense in some parts.8.jpg
Once I had the narwhale complete, I had to make 4 friends for him, doing exactly the same but using different lines.9.jpg

The last step was shading it all with a black colored pencil, and all ready for the scan! I had to do the same with the fishes.7.jpg

So, after I finished the drawing...

A single picture after the process.Scan version.
IMG_20180528_084613.jpgImagen.jpg

๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ

side 1.jpgNow, starts the madness. I used the whole space of the sheet to make all the figures, instead making a full composition. I tried to make the drawing as brigth as I could, and after asking for advices and consulting the trusty DIY book of youtube, I opened Adobe Photoshop CS6 to see if I could make it. And, after almost spending a whole day...side 2.jpg

Contest entry.jpg

OMG! It was easier than what I thought, After knowing the proper tools of course. I knowโ€ฆ for some of you, photoshop itโ€™s a piece of bread, but this was my first time using it and I got really excited to lose the fear of digital art.

The steem chart I usedThe background.The steemit logo.
steem chart.jpgcosmos.jpgBlockPay-Steem.png

๐ŸณI cropped the pieces using the magnetic whip, and then made each one a different layer. I had to use the T tool to reduce sizes and locate everything in place, and also adit the chart pic to make it fit with the background, adding a bit of outer shine.

๐Ÿณ After that, I painted the contour of the narwhal using 3 different brushes (it had to look like the main figure of the drawing, holding the visible chart on its mouth).

๐ŸณSince the narwhal and the background were different layers, I painted the background layer directly (then I realized that creating a new transparent layer and painting there would be better but welpโ€ฆ).

๐ŸณI copied some more fishies, edited then by blurring a bit, and I was done!

๐ŸŒŠ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐Ÿณ๐ŸŒŠ๐ŸŒŠ๐ŸŒŠ

yop.jpg

I hope you enjoyed reading this post and living this experience with me. I admit that making this took me longer than I wanted, since I have two events soon and I had to work in the costumes while so (donโ€™t worry, Iโ€™ll make posts about it). Also, I think Iโ€™ll keep practicing my digital art, playing with the tools to see if I can color my drawings there and improving my art style a bit. Also, I hope being able to work in commissions I the future. I hope u like this! (I gotta use this as a phone background for sure ๐Ÿ’)


โ–‘Uโ–‘nโ–‘iโ–‘cโ–‘oโ–‘rโ–‘nโ–‘iโ–‘aโ–‘ โ–‘2โ–‘0โ–‘1โ–‘8โ–‘.โ–‘ โ–‘
แตƒหกหก สณแถคแตแต—สฐหข สณแต‰หขแต‰สณแต›แต‰แตˆห‘

Sort: ย 

...what makes me tick when people write about "Digital Art" is how they describe it "playing with Photoshop"...why can't you say "working with" instead? I mean are you playing with your pencils?
Whatever technic you may use, the only think you have to master is yourself.

"playing" it's only an expresiรณn. I can be. Working on a piece and I choose to call it play, no matter which material/technique I were talking about (I'm not aware if people call it that way too).
I think that we can see our art process however we want, but in this case in particular, I said I was "playing" because that was my first time using it. ๐Ÿ˜•

Hey i think you need to tag @slothicorn they will love it

I swear narwhal has to be a Mandela effect.
In my universe I had never heard of it before.

Great art work @unicornia keep it up!

Nope! they're pretty real! weird, but real.

I kinda want this as a tattoo lol. I mean with the chart ๐Ÿ˜‚

You should do it, next question is where?

No clue. Im too chicken for now. Also no money for such things. But i will pack it away in the noggin

I should have that tattoo, next to my kitten tattoos <3

thanks for entry

You have received an upvote and resteem from Slothicorn :)

thank you slothy!

Either you or someone who valued your post shared this post on Pimp Your Post Thursday in the Steemit Ramble discord. Looking forward to you visiting us again.

Thank you sadows!! as goos as usual, keep up with the good job :D
(sorry for not being that present during the rambles :<)

This turned out awesome! I love the concept :)

Thank you! Glad u liked it. I'm looking forward to make more digital art in the future <3

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the look out for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)



Great job on this! Your original drawing on paper is excellent, and you did good work in getting it into digital form! Awesome! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62985.30
ETH 3106.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87