My Art Summary on Steemit & My Slothicorn Intro

in #slothicorn6 years ago (edited)

There is only a month left until my first year anniversary on Steemit, so I felt like revisiting some of my old posts. This is also a lovely opportunity to introduce myself to the Slothicorn community!

Under each image in this post, I've shared the link to the original posts, where I had shared my process and much more. Please do not upvote the old posts, rather if you really enjoyed them: upvote and resteem this post instead.

Cover: Dragon Heads 1; Dragon Heads 2 by @kristyglas

Cthulhu Pixel Art by @kristyglas

I'm a digital artist, 24 years old and mostly experienced in pixel art. However, on Steemit I prefer sharing my personal projects involving more traditional mediums with occasional digital art. My blog is all about art and creativity as that's is what I find easiest to express and enjoy the most. Moreover, I love experimenting with styles and methods based on my moods/intuition, so looking back at my old work is very fun and unusual. I regularly share my drawing process and I've made several drawing tutorials for Steemit.

DQmXmNvR4RPts6MKLKzPCUscZW84SS6uto5p3YbVpNTDsRp_compressed.jpg

Drawing a Little Bird Tutorial by @kristyglas

Recently I've been posting only once a week to keep my posts as interesting as possible with my very limited free time. I post on Sundays, because I usually get some time off work allowing me to polish that week's post. For example, today's post took me three drafts to complete, as writing is not my forte.

My Second Ever Post on Steemit- Dragons Part 1 by @kristyglas

I'm extremely satisfied with the current reception of my posts and plan to continue this way. It's a much more rewarding experience to focus on one good post instead of grinding payouts with many sub par posts. I have tried those before as well, so I know.

Fantasy Environment Painting by @kristyglas

Half of my posts are about dragons. My goal is to draw as many unique dragons as possible. Dragons inspire me and they challenge my design and technical skills. Interestingly, most cultures have some version of a dragon in their folklore and I feel that this makes dragons one of the most believable fantasy creatures.

More on Why I love Drawing Dragons

separator2.jpg

Most of my dragons aren't the stereotypical lizard like dragons you see everywhere. I avoid those as they have already been drawn in many ways by many more masterful artists. Instead, I find inspiration in making my dragons interesting in their own ways. They have recognizable and relatable personalities with certain unique features.

Arty the Courageous by @kristyglas

It's hard to believe that already a year flew by. Steemit community has been really great to me and I look forward to sharing many more posts with you guys.

A special thank you to my awesome followers and the incredible curators that promote and reward original content on Steemit. @curie and @ocd make a huge difference in art community. Being rewarded for hard work is motivating and gives us visibility on this platform we wouldn't have otherwise. As a very busy person, this means a lot to me and allows me to spend more time on my personal projects. @curie has called for delegation and I urge those who have benefited to delegate at least a bit! Together we can make a difference and reward more quality content on Steemit.

Landscape Photo Study by @kristglas

I'm fortunate that many of my posts have been curated. However, this is possible only for high quality posts that take more time. Early on I discovered how to create valuable content and what is important to include. It's not enough to simply post an artwork without content, unless it's truly exceptional. Make something to be proud of and worth revisiting a year later. I've compiled everything I know and use here:

How to Improve Your Art Posts to Get Noticed

If you are looking to be curated, those steps are really the best way to get started. If you try them out and mention the post above and me, I'll take a look and possibly give feedback or resteem if I really like your post. Only art posts apply as that is my expertise. @arepazo is the first Steemian I know that has applied the guide to his recent posts, and with a great success! Thank you @arepazo for trying out the tips and letting me know that the method really works.

Tips on using Tags and a Free Banner by @kristyglas

Another way to bring art community together is through contests, as this often incentivizes newer Steemians to stick around, even if their posts aren't doing well. I know contests greatly helped me in the first months to gain a following. This is why I had also made several of my own contests. My favorite is still the first one I made, as there were many awesome entries in different styles.

My First Contest That I Ever Hosted Themed: Dragons

separator2.jpg

Why Slothicorn?

I love checking out new artists and especially new communities. Slothicorn first caught my attention with the unique approach to creative commons art. I occasionally post free art for Steemians to use in their posts. One of my previous contributions to @slothicorn were free page dividers that you can see here: https://steemit.com/slothicorn/@kristyglas/700-followers-new-page-dividers

qr.png

More here; and here

I am glad that Slothicorn is now open to all quality art, but with very strict curation. I do my best to improve and help the thriving art community on Steemit; and I'd love to reach more people. I love sharing everything I know, because I have learned a lot from others willing to share their knowledge. I'm very to the point and I avoid repeating myself as much as possible. I hope @slothicorn accepts my introduction and more future content. For anyone else interested in @slothicorn, I suggest starting here: https://steemit.com/slothicorn/@slothicorn/what-is-slothicorn-looking-for-new-guidelines-for-newbies-monster-post

Inktober Dragons by @kristyglas

For those who want to read more about me, this is my: Original Introduction post on Steemit

separator2.jpg

My most recent art series is the 12 zodiac signs interpreted as dragons. Aries; Taurus; Gemini. In those posts I also covered my steps in detail, how to shade with color pencils and my way of fighting art block.

I hope you enjoyed this recap of my posts and thank you for reading! ♡

All of the art in this post was made by me. All Rights Reserved. Copyright @kristyglas.

follow.png

Sort:  

Wow great read and post! Really cute dragons :D

Thank you! ^-^

Congratulations! I love your diverse art and how you´re developing concepts. Furthermore: The Cthulhu is great.

Thank you! :D
I still can't believe how fast 1 year flew by.

Wow! You are an EPIC artist. Love your pixel artwork. I love pixel very much. But your digital painting is AWESOMEEE as well. Followed you to see more epic dragon artworks. Regards @karmachela

Thank you very much! And for help in the Slothicorn Discord :D
I love your art, especially pixelart! ^^

That bird drawing tutorial brings back pleasant memories :D
I've been hearing a lot about slothicorn haven't dwell on the subject in depth. Thank you for sharing the link and keep on steeming @kristyglas

It all does bring memories :D I'll try to make more contests when I'm less busy as tutorials are hardest for me to make ^^
Thank you for checking this post out ^-^
Here is some more info about Slothicorn https://steemit.com/slothicorn/@slothicorn/new-curation-policy-and-updated-rules-for-slothicorn

Wow, cool artwork! I love your dragons, even though they're on the cutesie side of design.

Good thing I saw your promotion in Discord, or I would have missed out on this visual treat! You've gained a new follower. :D

Thank you very much :D
Yeah most are cutesies as they give me a happy boost when drawing them haha.
I will certainly try making more of the serious inked dragons. I just need the right ideas ^^
Discord is a life saver sometimes, as it's easier to find posts and get noticed there. :D

Also have you been to @crimsonclad 's metal shows? I seem to recognize you from there :D

Oh, I don't recall interacting with @crimsonclad. But, thanks for letting me know about her. :)

I think that the best thing about you its your enthusiasm for giving out what you know and to help out other artists. Most of you posts are tutorials more than just showcases, I should follow this path as well.
And its always a big advice for all artists (the first and more important one being constant practice) to be open to new knowledge and also to share what we know.
About your art, I really like how some of your drawings are big, big scenarios, big backgrounds, big characters.
EDIT: Thank you for your mention, thank you for your tutorials.

Thank you so much for your kind words :D
It's really a pleasure to share, and I have had incredible support and help so far. I just want to continue the cycle and inspire as well :D
As for my art, I'm have most fun by drawing what I like and I'm still exploring and learning a lot ^^
Also I have been fortunate that my work has been rewarded so well so far. I'm crazy busy with work, so I have to use my time carefully. Afterall we need to eat and pay bills :)

Amazing compilation post, @Kristyglas ! You've certainly brought a lot of value and quality contents to Steemit <3 Here's looking forward to more kristy in the future :D

upvotes

Thank you :D
I hope to see more of your work as well ^-^

This is a great compilation of your various skills, not just art but guidelines, and contest also. Very cool! I checked the artist guide and gained some new knowledge.

-upvoted-

Thank you :D
I hope the guide serves you well ^^

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 5 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 33 SBD worth and should receive 98 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations! Been great to be part of your art journey this year. I hope there will be many more to come for both of us!

Thank you :D It has been a great journey indeed, glad I got back in January ^^
Good luck to both of us! hehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99