Introducing My Maraca-self to Slothicorn

in #slothicornintro6 years ago

💕 Greetings Steemians and Slothicornians! 💕

WhatsApp Image 2018-08-21 at 18.38.04.jpeg

It's been a while since I wanted to join this community, I follow a lot of artist who started here and their art is AMAZING. So naturally I was a little scared to share my art here because I oftenly feel insecure about it, I tend to compare my work with others a lot and that's a rough struggle I fight day by day. Nevertheless my spirit is quite strong, so I decided to be brave, have some balls and share my art.

IMG_20180210_223156.png

Who is Maraca?

20180811_141419.jpg

me in my Mary Poppins cosplay (I had so much FUN doing this, you have no idea

A little (18 year old) Venezuelan girl with an old soul named Mara with a big big passion for arts, specially graphic design, music and musical theater. She doesn't knows exactly what her dreams are, but she's sure of one thing: she'll fight hard for them.

Studying graphic design on the most critical economic situation (Venezuela) wich is a challenge every day, not only because of the +4 hours blackouts, poor to non existent internet and phone service, and massive pollution, but also because of the lack of transportation, pooverty and primitive living conditions everywhere. However, she won't give up on her goals, she'll keep fighting until she makes it. And she'll use every chance she has to make some money and improve her situation and her family's

IMG_20180210_223156.png

PA Q LUIS UNIK.jpg

Some of my artwork is in spanish because my native language is spanish.

This is a logo I made for a bakery, I really loved creating it because it has this cute, pinky, sweet vibe. In adition to that I made it a few months later, so I had more knowledge to apply into it, such as color theory and imagemaking. This logo is not type based, kinda to explore my skills for creating characters/icons and play around a bit.

First artwork

This is a poster I made in class, back on that day I started to take type more seriously, I tried to work in digital and to create a more proffessional work where type was the star, also I wanted it to have more personality and look dynamic.

tortas Candelita [Recuperado]-02.png

IMG_20180210_223156.png

Art, fondly placed in my heart

29.png

Art gives me a big reason to exist, it represents who I am and it's my main resource to escape the horrible reality, in order to create a better one, and communicate to people, show my feelings, thoughts, perspectives, everything that crosses my mind in a piece.

fortune favors action.jpg

slothibodoni.jpg

My big ass passion is Lettering, Calligraphy and Typography, I just love EVERYTHING about it, the complexity of letters represent the whole pont of art for me, they're full of so many details, that we oftenly refuse to see, secretly hiding a world of meanings, stories and representations. So that's what I do, I dedicate to uncover the misteries behind a typeface, the unbelievable hard skills required to do classic calligraphy, or the thousand and one ways to create handlettering.

IMG_20180715_114158.jpg

a card I made for mother's day, I got really excited with the ornaments.

IMG_20180210_223156.png

P1100164.JPG

This is my wating lettering notebook, here I sketch things when I'm wating in lines, between classes, etc. That way I can invest my time in stretching that creativity muscle, and sometimes great ideas come out!

IMG_20180715_114954.jpg

Some backstage action, as you can see, I'll get on any chair to get a good picture!

P1100167.JPG

IMG_20180210_223156.png

Join my Journey

Unfortunately, this type/lettering/handlettering community doesn't have many friends, so one of the reasons I decided to share my adventure of exploring lettering and type, is to show how wonderful it can be, and hopefully make some friends on the way!

IMG_20180210_223156.png

💕 See you Letter! 💕

Sort:  

Votada por un trail sin nombre :P

éxito amiga!

Congratulations @maraca! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @maraca! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66