Slug Racing and Short Selling

A few days ago it clouded up and rained and the slugs came out exploring. I got some nice pictures when I was out walking Dog-oh.

Slugs have been a favorite of mine since I was a child. They come out when there is plenty of moisture around. I remember my mom’s reaction to them as they crawled around on the porch in evening, “Eww slug’s!” she would say and wrinkle up her nose.

As a kid I thought it was kind of a funny reaction.

These brown slugs are a bit smaller than the giant green slugs you sometimes see around here. I’ve heard that the brown ones eat more of the fallen leaves and leave the garden plants mostly alone.

The giant green ones like to eat the growing plants. They are non-native and have caused some issues for gardeners.

Finding a meme for the picture

Seems like this picture might be good for a meme or something. Maybe something like, Mr. Slug says, “No job, no crypto - it sucks to be you” or maybe, “Even I can keep up with alt coins these days”.

(Mr. Slug could be a bit snarky and uncompassionate and does not reflect the views of @lightsplasher in general, lol)

What other saying do you think could go with this picture?

slug.jpg
Brown slug raising head – click for viewing full screen

Here a top down view. I’m not sure what the large hole in the side of the slug is for, seems like it would be tempting to fill it with spit or water and see if the slug can still hear. “Hey, Mr. Slug, can you hear me now?” Hehehe. (Please don’t do this unless you are given a grant from a science foundation to experiment on slugs, lol.)

slugBody.jpg
Brown slug as typically viewed from the top – click for viewing full screen

Anyhow, I’m still hanging in there waiting for the slow recovery of the crypto market. I’ve been kind of shorting stuff, hodling my coins recently and watching the slugs race on the sidewalk, among other things.

Hopefully everyone is happy, enjoying life, and realizes I’m just joking around a bit.

Notes on short selling

When the market is heading down you can still increase your holdings of investments that you like. I think what I do is kind of like short selling but I don’t borrow anything to do it. I basically sell stuff and offer to buy it back at a lower price. Selling high and buying low is basically the same as buying low and selling high - that is, if what your trading eventually fluctuates up in value again.

For example if you sell four bit pennies (.04 BTC) at $6111 per BTC you would get $244.44. You could place a buy order to get $244.44 worth of bitcoin if the price goes down to $4888.

If that buy order fills you would then have a bit nickel (.05 BTC) and if the price of bitcoin goes up eventually, this would be worth more to sell. Perhaps, if bitcoin goes back towards its previous level you could sell .05 btc * $10,000 for $500 and a nice profit.

If the price of bitcoin goes really high before your buy order fills, you could be stuck with $244.44 dollars and might regret having sold your bitcoin too early (or you might just be happy with having some extra cash).

As with anything it is tough to know what the market is going to do. There are a lot of short variations in price with many of the cryptocurrencies. If your not careful, fees on buying and selling can take away some of your profits and there are many risks involved.

I hope everyone is happy and successful with all of their blogging, trading or whatever they enjoy doing.


Thanks for reading! I always value your support and comments. The pictures were taken by me with my Galaxy S9+ with some modifications done in the digital darkroom on the first picture by Google Photos.

Sort:  

Wow excellent Photography and it is really look. that is best quantity.
wonderful post sir
Have a great day

Hi brother how are you, oh my brother in my post has a brown caterpillar that i found the caterpillar also has two antennas like animals that are on the latest post from brother @lightsplasher if you are not busy hope to see it.

Hey, I'll check it out if I haven't already. (I'm kind of forgetful, lol) I'm doing fine this evening and I hope you are well.

Hehehe thank you brother @lightsplasher, I am sure you will be rich and successful I really hope that I am also fine

his shell does not exist, if in Indonesia as shown below


source

This looks a lot like the snails around here.

That's a bigger slug then the ones that we have around here!

I've lived or visited a few other areas around the US but have not seen slugs the size they get around here. I'm not sure about the East coast though, plus it is hard to know unless your in the area after a rain or heavy dew.

I think your slug was shot in the side by a BB gun!

Yeah my background is trading stocks. No matter how much you hedge and protect, seems there has to be some risk for some gain. We used to liken it to the saying: "you cannot be a little bit pregnant."

I guess I could never get the idea of valuing crypto. However, I do like Steem because I feel the site has value. I feel like I am buying in more and more with every post. I power up, so I hope it goes up again!

It does kind of look like it but I think the hole is a feature of slug anatomy, but maybe I should fill it up with butter as an act of kindness just in case it is a wound, LOL.

I think it is very tough to value crypto there are many different issues to consider. It has turned into a very fun hobby for me but I'm not from a stock background at all and kind of just stumble along.

Steem seems like one of the few projects out there that has some sort of intrinsic value without a large risk. I think I'm biased though after putting in all the effort on these posts.

Yes we may indeed be biased yet I see Facebook has a market value of just over 500 BILLION dollars! That is half a trillion! Now I know we are no where near being as valuable as that but it speaks to the potential of our site. Should be a fun ride. A good Thursday to you!

You take very good pictures, why do not you post like this day by day and I always want to see and learn about your way of taking pictures. I am also a photography lover and this is amazing.

Thank you, I'm encouraged to post more often. I might do some tutorials on my photography process if you like.

Meme slugs are perfect for terminating the current crypto state. like a snail coming out of a nest at certain moments. maybe so also with crypto will rise at a certain time.
In the present circumstances can make us a little lost spirit, but we must suddenly we reap the results of this sacrifice and hard work. how do you think brothers @lightsplasher

I think good things will be in store for everyone in the long run and crypto will rise again. At least I'm still hopeful for this. From an economic standpoint I think it is high time for a change that will benefit all of humanity, plants, life forms and minerals.

Excellent post good article and photography dear @lightsplasher thanks for shere with us....?

Excellent shots. I do wonder if that poor slug met with a chemical and that is the reason for the odd hole on the side there.

The thing about short selling, I think, is you have to deal in great volumes to make anything and the exchanges/ATM take a lot in service charges and inflated rates. Now if you run your own exchange that is something different. I imagine the Winklevoss' are making a pretty penny.

I think the hole is actually like the slugs nose that they breath through and they have the ability to close it if they want. Perhaps you don't notice it as much on the smaller slugs. (It is best to leave it alone I suppose, lol)

I'm certainly not an expert in trading but it is a fun hobby that has been rewarding for me without doing a lot of volume. There are ways to minimize fees and mine coins on your computer. There are many different ways of trading and making crypto but I think it does get harder if the market is going down.

I am doing it from Canada too and that has a way of limiting things:)

this type of snail very much I get in the garden not far from my house. usually people really hate this snail because it looks very disgusted.

I don't really feel there is anything worth hating in this world for it all a part of the divine. With that said there are certainly experiences that I would not wish to have happen to me or those that I love, so I suppose I hate those things for I am human. I actually like snails and slugs, though they may do things that I don't particularly like or look a certain way. These types of things are very easy for me to like for there is no malice in the way any animal appears, and the actions it does are purely for its survival.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61