Sort:  

I once lived in Albuquerque, New Mexico, and there was an old cemetery right behind my apartment. The graves were dug in the early to mid 1800's. How old is the cemetery in your photos?

Same - this is Camberwell Old Cemetery, The first graves were dug in1855!

When I was a student at UCLA, I worked part time as a mortician. It made me think about what is important in life, and this set me on a different course completely. Every day of life is precious, and what is precious is the time that we spend "in the moment", forgetting self and being completely connected to another person, or what we are seeing, or what we are doing or making.

Much later in life, I worked for several years in an assisted living facility, in which 175 old people, about 80 years old. These experiences also gave me much to think about.

Very interesting. Thanks for sharing. I know exactly what you mean about living in the moment. Eckhart Tolle Talks about it a lot and I do connect to it. I do try to live my life exactly like that. My 96 years old grandma always ends conversations with me on the phone with the sentence- "enjoy every moment of your life".

Am adding this because I just skimmed part of the Wikipedia article on Eckhart Tolle. One warning: true love bears fruit. The Eastern philosophies, as practiced by those who do not "get" the message of love, can degrade to narcissism, as I read the Dali Lama point out in one of his books. Love is connection, and each and every connection has a purpose, which generally speaking is mutual benefit of Self and Other.

OTOH, "Action is inaction, and inaction is action, for the introspective sage." (Bhagavad-Gita)

Peace.

I agree. There is a danger in all New Age philosophies, which is people miss understanding it and thinking they should surrender to what ever is happening and just live their life. Tolle had said many times - sometimes you need to act - or if you can do anything about a situation do it. (I have lots to add but I am too tired to explain what I mean now, it has been a long day.. maybe tomorrow)

Years ago, my brother, who was wiser than me, said, "We don't have to always be talking. It's OK to just be with each other.". You and I can share thoughts with each other without feeling any need to dissect or analyze them, but rather just to enjoy a moment of connection with someone.

Perhaps that's why she got to 96!

I have a penchant for cemetery photography, myself. In that first shot, did you apply a “noir” filter?

I can understand you. So much beauty. I use an app called Snapseed, and I used Black and white filter - dark. So yes, well done for noticing.

Very nice effect. I get a similar effect in iPhotos with the “noir” filter.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 21:28:25
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 337.25/200.00
Total Photos: 58
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61285.21
ETH 2922.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66