Georgia On My Mind - Los Angeles, California

in #smartphonephotography6 years ago (edited)

"When you take a flower in your hand and really look at it, it's your world for the moment. I want to give that world to someone else. Most people in the city rush around so, they have no time to look at a flower. I want them to see it whether they want to or not."
--- Georgia O'Keeffe


My last few days have been graced with giant white blooms and they were my world for much more than a moment. I haven't been taking many photos lately but these beauties inspired me to pull out my phone and see how I could go about sharing this part of my world with someone else. Since moving to L.A., my time in nature has been limited so, when I get the chance to commune with a flower, I relish it! Without any further ado, here's what I found...whether you want to see it or not. 😁❀


White Flower 1.jpg
My neighborhood is well populated with Magnolia trees. I have been admiring the underside of these blooms for weeks and have even wished I had a ladder so I could inspect them more closely. I was so thankful that this one decided to meet me on my level. I found it face down in the dirt so I carefully picked it up and took it to a better place in order to capture its magnificence. I could go on and on about this shot but I will let you enjoy it for yourself...I mean...LOOK AT IT!


White Flower 2.jpg
This Matilija poppy greeted me at the start of the trailhead yesterday. The crinkly texture of these delicate petals is one of my favorite features and the dew drops were just an extra bonus...I didn't even see them until I was editing the shot. Since I am usually all about the minute details, my lack of awareness here kind of surprised me. I'm sure I will manage to recover. 😉


White Flower 3.jpg
These last two shots are from the same flower and it is the one that most made me feel like I was channeling Georgia O'Keeffe. This one lent itself to black and white which brought out all of those glorious veins...so yummy!!!

White Flower 4.jpg
Here is a full, pure view. Pretty nice for a weed (Jimson Weed to be exact)...don't you agree?

Check out Georgia's painting below. I'm sure you can tell why she has been on my mind the last few days.


Georgia O’Keeffe, Weed/White Flower No. 1, 1932
CREDIT: © 2016 GEORGIA O'KEEFFE MUSEUM/DACS, LONDON


Steemit USA footer.png

Sort:  

That is pretty nice for a weed. Your neighborhood must smell good with all those magnolias =)

I don't think I have ever smelled Magnolias. Jasmine what I smell most around here (not seen anywhere in this post ;) ). Thanks for stopping by and checking out my post!

So beautiful, beauty of nature is still there for those with the eyes to see.

Thank you! I am lucky to both have the eyes to see and the ears to hear it calling to me. :)

Truely amazing how close your photo is to Georgia's painting.

I should try doing a painted version of my photo to see if I could get closer! :)

Thanks for stopping by!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-01T22:12:57
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1025.52/1600.00
Total Photos: 100
Total comments: 219
Total contest wins: 5
And have also received a 1.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67546.21
ETH 3785.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56