Smartphone Photography Challenge - Icy Rock Wall

Hi Steem friends,

For my entry into today's smartphonephotography challenge, I'm sharing a photo that I took yesterday afternoon while I was out for a walk with one of my friends after school. Now that our evenings stay brighter with the sun setting a later and later times every day until the middle of the summer, we have a chance to do a few hours of activities outside before the dark sets in. Yesterday one of my friends and I decided that we would venture outside to this huge rock wall that runs alongside a highway near where we live. I saw it a few days ago while I was driving and knew that we just had to come back to explore and take some photos!

The highway that runs beside this rock wall has only been there for about 10-15 years and as a matter of fact, they had to explode quite a bit of the rock that was present, leaving us with this big, jagged wall that you can see today. I find it especially cool that right now there is some ice that you can see frozen in various spots where the water would normally trickle down from above. It's also pretty cool too that you can see lots of darker deposits that run laterally through the rock. I'm not quite sure what those deposits are made of, but they do look interesting that's for sure!

Now that I've had an opportunity to spend some time exploring the outdoors, it has me excited for the rest of this spring and summer! Once the rest of the snow melts, it will make it so much easier to get around and will let me get back out there to find more cool sights to share with you all!

IMG_20190410_181542.jpg


This photo was taken using the Google Pixel 2

For contest details, please check out this post by @juliank!


Thanks for taking the time to check out my post!

Please upvote, comment, resteem and follow me if you'd like to see more content like this from me in the future!
@shawkr13

Sort:  

Hi, @shawkr13!

You just got a 6.53% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

You got a 1.80% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @shawkr13!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94