Ditch the smokes and hitch the crypto

in #smoking6 years ago (edited)

440px-Cigarette_DS.jpg
18 years 356 days ago, I gave up smoking. Yes, I was a smoker (boo , hiss.......).

I started smoking at 12. I did it to piss my Dad off, and it did. He wasn't impressed.

It was the first holiday we'd ever taken with my 'step-monster' and 'step-botherers'.... and I was pissed.

I took a pack of one of the boys Camel cigarettes, and proceeded to light up infront of everyone and smoke my way through the pack. It's amazing how determined one can be not to cough and puke when one wants to be..... and that's where it started.

Actually, to be truthful it began a while before then when my Mom would be driving, she would pass me her cigarettes and lighter and ask me to "light one" for her and pass it back to her. I must have been about 10, and no health and safety issues back then. Ahhhh.... the life ......

Anyway..... so it began, lighting smokes in the car, and then smoking my own, and I smoked all the way till my late 20's.

The day I gave up - cold turkey - I decided to put the amount I spent every day on smokes into a bank account for 10 years, and to buy myself something at the end of that term.

Those days the smokes were about £2 a pack, so I put £60 a month away. Times that by 120 months (for 10 years) and at the end of 10 years I had £7200 plus interest .

What did I do? I bought myself an awesome holiday for a month to do something I'd always wanted to do, and had a ball.

So, it pays to go healthy and look after yourself, but what if these days I had done it with CRYPTO?

If I had paid say £11 a day for smokes and gave them up ( no, people, I still don't smoke, this is hypothetical..) for a year, I'd save £4015 - wow. Imagine if I put THAT into crypto.....

If I put £4105 every year, I'd have 5 bitcoin ( using an average of $8000 per BTC) in my crypto wallet.
Even more if I managed to buy it lower. All that and I'd be healthier, and I'd not smell bad or have stained teeth ( yes, a stereo-type, I know).

Now that seems really worth it and far more fun than smoking.... what do you think?

Any smokers out there willing to give it a shot?

Have a great day...
Completely Clueless

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54