An epiphany about Smart Media Tokens (SMTs) or just a lack of sleep?

in #smt6 years ago (edited)

A quick video on a use case for SMTs that I haven't seen discussed.

Basically the use case is using tokenisation as a symbolic representation of the value people provide in our lives.

(I'll probably expand on the ideas in these video if I get the time...but for now off to enjoy Lisbon!!)

Sort:  

Great video, thanks for posting.
Steemfest looked great - I only watched videos, I missed out on the break dancing or whatever :-)

re video Initially I thought you were talking about 'monetizing" the human experience.

Then I started thinking your turning "life" into a "game" where chars get 'points' for "attributes"
eg i'm 80% as a giver 30% as a lover and 50% as a fighter or something

Battle bots on line the new virtual reality game that is really you &me & the new wristband is out soon that shows our 'powers' haha haha
Pokemon v3 with real people or something!

What happens to lonely, solitary, non-social Apies? tricky because we are perhaps "valuing" social worth & connectivity in some ways.

But maybe you are just replacing 'money' as an exchange of value and expanding value to include human experiences as a reward-able thing in addition to goods & typical services (accounting/car washing etc).

So as a "love" / "appreciation" token I think you might be on to something. But perhaps it really only includes the socially connected.

but what if SMT went a step further & actually tried to replace the whole concept of "money". Sort of like a barter token.

eg I fix your car, the butcher provides you meat, my landlady does someones cleaning, and a friend gives me a ride to supermarket.
exchange of value (at some rate) but beyond the concepts & limits of 'money'.

Is that what SMT are or could be?

Time will tell :-)

Some good insight there. Thanks for contributing to the conversation.

I really like this;

maybe you are just replacing 'money' as an exchange of value and expanding value to include human experiences as a reward-able thing in addition to goods & typical services (accounting/car washing etc).

It really encapsulates the concept.

Great stuff. Sat next to you at Ned's fireside talk - stay in touch!

Sure thing. I'll be sure to check out your blog.

Yes you should have a token to play poker ;)

I can call it the "cookie" token!

I think it's a lack of sleep xD
If I want to tip someone using crypto - i can use steem or bitcon, e.g. a generic utility token.
If I want to remember a record of past experiences, I have my heart and feelings.

I believe there will be many others that agree with you and will not participate. However I think there could be many who find utility (and fun) out of such a coin.

Maybe, people like new ideas!

SMTFest 1

I had a good laugh at that. Don't forget the new logo too, tons of new surprise at Steemfest/

We should all just make our own tokens under our names and just try to push our tokens as the next big thing. What would be there use? Doesn't matter, we just need our own token and push it until it pumps! We would all become gansta token hustlers. Keep an eye out for ballin coin the next best token in the crypto world!

Ballin coin... I love that! It's got to be worth a couple of million dollar marketcap on the name alone!

It was great chatting to you again and getting to know you a bit better at this Steemfest.

Yeah, indeed it will be. So much wow it will have, just like dodge coin. Only people who are ballin ballers will be a part of the distribution. Then once it pumps from the hype, I will sell off all my pre-mined ballin coins that I have.

Good talking to you and getting to know you too. Using blockfolio now with notification activated thanks to you from when I missed the pump at steemfest ^_^

@nanzo-scoop It was great meeting you, see you next year. ;)

Likewise. Congrats again on the pregnancy! I hope all goes well with the birth. Look forward to seeing some photos!

Hope you enjoyed steemfest2 I missed out. Was great meeting you last year though lol.

Yeah, Steemfest2 was great. It's a shame you couldn't make this one. I believe I met your brother in Lisbon?

Hopefully I'll see you at Steemfest3!

I think Dan's original token of appreciation, "Brownie Points", on the BTS chain were a good example of what you're discussing. If you helped Dan or the community he would use them as a marker of sorts. The price on them rose rapidly, at one point I can remember them selling for 25 BTS / 1 BP. =)

I missed the Brownie Points idea. It sounds interesting. I'll definitely look into it and how it operated.

Hmmmm....interesting perspective! Unfortunately there were a lot of stuff that didn't get discussed during the fest, but then again, 2 days are not nearly enough to discuss everything I guess. Glad to chat with you at that break, during Conference Day 1 ;) I sure enjoyed SteemFest immensely and I hope it was the same for you! I just did a very emotional post about it - can't get used to the idea that I'm back to reality, back to my -kinda boring- everyday life after this!!!

It was good meeting you too. Yes, it's always a come down after attending these events. Did you remember where you knew @andrarchy from? It was kinda assuming watching you trying to work it out!

ahahaha I guess in the end he was just familiar from Steemit,I couldn't find out another explanation! ;)

Sometimes words can explain better than writing . I feel like this would change the game up for the platform , it should get more users to join and hopefully raise the price of Steem

me follow and you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29