You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Smart Media Tokens Explained // Interview with @raised2b - Part One

in #smt6 years ago

Haha, she uses short form and just calls me "boyfriend"

On the Steemconnect front, I trust it, but only with my posting key. If an app using Steemconnect asks for my active or owner key, I don't use it.

Steemit.com is really the only place that I'll put my active or owner key in at the moment.

Sort:  

How can i use steemconnect withe posting? IT alwas wants my active. Which URL Do you use?

Unfortunately, you don't get to make the choice. When an app decides to use Steemconnect as their login tool, then they also decide which level of permission they want to request.

So in this case, if they want your active key, I'd be asking the developer why they need that level of access to my account.

Now, if you use Steemconnect directly to take some kind of action on your account and are not prompted by an app or website, for example, undelegating Steem Power, then it's probably fine, but if an app is using Steemconnect to ask you for permanent permissions, then I'd think really hard about giving anything more than my posting key.

Basically, if you're giving an app your active key, do so realizing that you could easily wake up to find that all your liquid Steem and SBD is gone and only your Steem Power will remain.

If you're ok with that risk, then that's when you'd hand over your active key.

Under no circumstances would I ever hand out my owner key, and I treat my active key in much the same way.

then they also decide which level of permission they want to request. that is a good info. Hope with rising competition they change. I am not willing always keep an eye an my steem dollars.


Do you uses the QR Codes given next to the Password? This would be a smoove way to scan your Active Passwords when you need to transfer funds, without storing them on your phone. I tried it once but did not work. QR code could not be detected.

Thanks for the tip! Your comment cracked me up.

Yeah, I never really understood why some apps ask for your active key, that's an immediate no for me using the app.

On the QR code front, I've never actually tried using it. It would be conveinient though if it worked. I just use a password manager and copy paste from there when I need to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71342.73
ETH 3809.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49