The truth behind Snapchat Filters

in #snapchat7 years ago (edited)

Desensitized to an unattainable depiction of beauty
If only we could edit reality like we edit photos

The fake adored
The real abhorred
Rewarded for vanity,
Discarded for calling out humanity
There are flaws, an excess of laws but whose fighting the right cause?

IMG_3458.JPG

I am victim to this evolved form of vanity. I deleted my snapchat months ago to boycott the addiction that was taking hold of me but here I am on steemit now, posting these pictures in hopes to get some steem. I know it will work.... attraction sells and Steemit is an avenue where an upvote holds actual value but what about all the other social media sites that don't pay? Exploiting our personalities and need for recognition to the point of depression, comparison and widely accepted false images. Many profess to have their social media usage under control, but ask them to delete it and watch the river of defense and excuses start to flow. Here I am now, posting pictures of a girl who looks like me, but isn't. I don't look like this!!! I wish i did, and i look awfully close to her but this isn't me. I am saddened by the amount of people who post only snapchat filtered images of themselves. The thousands of comments, likes and upvotes for an image that isn't.

It has always bothered me that a vain selfie will get at least 3x more likes than a post about something that actually matters. Not sure if this is a problem that can be solved but I am thankful for Steemit, this new platform will change the way information is distributed and hopefully prove that more people care about real issues than a fake depiction of real women. In the mean time - upvote, follow and enjoy this clickbait. Hoping one day my values and intellect will generate more likes than my selfies.

IMG_3456.JPG

Also. I think snapchat filters are a step towards facial recognition software. Snapchat users are willingly giving up their facial information cause vanity is addicting. Check the mural on the side of the CNN Hollywood building, it totally confirms my suspicion. If anyone is curious to see it, let me know and i will dig it out from my files.

xoxo

Sort:  

Haha you tagged click bait. Love it. Keep up the good posts!

thank you! is that how you found my page?

Congratulations @bankofyreka! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Butterflys means "Monarch Program". Great post, would love to chat with you and share insights

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69824.27
ETH 3761.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81