You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thinking critically about social media: Seven reasons to be sceptical about social media optimism

in #sndbox-alpha6 years ago

Great information and insights @revisesociology ... I have been thinking about these very things! You have put it together well... This is the first post of yours I have read, I'm impressed and like what your doing here. Anxiously awaiting more developments on this subject. Resteemed? Check.

I suspect that this is just the tip of the iceberg, social engineering is way more complex than we fathom. Someone is playing with primordial mechanisms in suit of their desired end. Pass me some tin foil! Perhaps, those guys talking about "how they're probing our brain waves" weren't just some lunatics after all! ;)

Sort:  

Thanks so much.

This was supposed to be the first (Actually it's the second, from one I did much early) post in a massive series setting up an analytical framework for an investigation of social media and then steemit as a comparison.

Despite being what I'm most interested in, and it also being an effort on my part to write about something other than 'me' or 'steemit' it's largely been ignored...

I think you may have been the only person who read it.

Still, I'm sure it'll get rewarded once I link it as part of the series....

It does interest me, critical approaches to social media. The rest of the book I'm reading is also great - but challenging. It's by a youngish academic whose struggling to put his complex ideas across clearly... it's a thing in academia... some of them 'overcook' the intellectualism and aren't able to express themselves clearly until edition 3 or 4.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68662.62
ETH 3151.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70