You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I (Still) Call Myself an Urbanist

in #sndbox6 years ago

Congratulations on becoming a formal part of sndbox. And upon your progress in recognizing yourself as an "urbanist". The way you describe it, urbanism is conceptual and creative, but most of all it's optimistic. It's an investment in the future of people. It looks forward to integrating utility with aesthetics. I've never had much use for form without function. There's a commonly seen lawn ornament in my area--a hitching post, but no horse. So completely illogical and pointless. Urbanism seems the opposite of that--form and function united for a more harmonious community.
Good luck, @manouche, on sndbox, and more expansively, in your creative endeavors.

Sort:  

Thanks, @agmoore! We have to find a way to keep in touch that doesn't depend on the comment section.

I think anyone who's interested in urbanism can be an urbanist. I just have the education to recognise it and the tools to express myself. Urbanism is something that encompasses so many different fields that it it just naturally allows for a conversation between many different disciplines.

I guess I'm an urbanist :)---without the education. Yeah, communicating in comments is like yelling in a crowded room. Still, I'm so pleased to watch your progress. Every one of your blogs is a pleasure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88