SNDBOX THUMBNAIL COMPETITION | My entry And A Breakdown Of How I Animated It

in #sndbox7 years ago (edited)





For this competition I decided to make an animated gif using Adobe After Effects. I really like @sndbox's branding and style and wanted to stay on brand as much as possible so I decided to look through some of the previous posts @sndbox had made to get some inspiration.


  • Once I had found a few Ideas I went ahead and made the background gradient by color-picking the 2 blues from this graphic below.
    170804_Schedule-Future-02.jpg



1-gradient-logo.jpg

1-gradient-logo2.jpg



  • Taking inspiration from the @sndbox graphic above I decided to incorporate a peppering of random shapes. To make the shapes change as they are gently falling I first creating a separate 8 second composition at 200x200px and added the 4 different shape layers.

3-shape-1.jpg

3-shape-2.jpg



  • I then added the random shape composition to a 3rd party plugin called Trapcode Particular and used it as a texture polygon. To get the particles falling behind the text as well as in front I duplicated the particle layer I just made and moved the second layer to the back. I also added a slight glow to both of the particle layers.

2-Particular.jpg

2-Particular-2.jpg



  • I chose a font that was in keeping with the @sndbox branding and gave each character a different colored stroke.

4-text-stroke.jpg



  • Here are all the layers I used for this animation.

Final-2.jpg



  • Finally to get it to loop I created a new composition and dropped in the finished animation. I split it in half and moved one of the end points to the end of the comp and moved the other half of the end to the beginning and faded one layer into the other. This way the gif seamlessly loops.

5-looped-comp.jpg




Well I thoroughly enjoyed making this thumbnail and pretty happy at the way it turned out. I hope you all like it to. Thanks for giving us all the opportunity to participate in this competition. Look forward to seeing all the other entries.






Sort:  

This is awesome. Great work. Where are you based? We may want to work with you on something soon @animate

Thank you very much. Means a lot coming from someone as established as yourself.

I'd prefer not to say where I'm based on the public blockchain as I like my anonymity. But I'd be happy to chat over email or discord and let you know if you'd like to speak further. Feel free to send me a message on the Steemit chat discord here https://discord.gg/uKdS4E5 or leave me your email and I'll drop you a message.

I'd be honored to work with you guys.

Thanks kindly for the support.
@animate

so much love and effort went into this! nicely done!

Thanks pal. Means a lot coming form a fellow animator.
@animate

I was always on board with these kinda things, now I can finally try it , cool! THANKS!

Maybe you could come, and join the

1# TALENT🌟CHALLENGE: 1000+ SteemPower 😎 DELEGATION FOR GRABS + Sweet🍬Bellyrub Upvotes

I am sure you will make a fun thing;)

Cheers!

Nice work again. Though I liked the block trades one more!

Thanks ...although this design won me 100 shiny new sbd. :)

This is awesome. Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67831.12
ETH 3801.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75