Introducing: "5ifth Element" - It's All About Knowledge [New Segment]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #sndbox6 years ago (edited)

We're introducing a new segment for Hip Hop The Blockchain here on Steemit entitled "5ifth Element". Dropping next week and to be curated by @vandigital, the segment is dedicated to spreading what is commonly known as the "5th Element" of Hip Hop, Knowledge.

5ifth element intro.jpg.jpg

As it is our aim to develop more segments catering to the different elements of Hip Hop we feel that in order for the community to have a strong mutual understanding of the overall culture we need to stregnthen the foundation at its core, which is knowledge. For this we will be using the tag #knowledge.

The segment will talk about the many pioneers and organizations that have been powering Hip Hop since its inception and be more of a guide for you, the readers and community-at-large to expand on your knowledge of the culture and get to know the important people, places and times.

line graff 01.jpg

5ifth Element will not go in-depth in our articles, but just give an overview and provide valuable links and videos to support the content we are sharing. We are always looking to cater to what people are interested in so if you have thoughts or comments you can drop them below or get at us in our Discord.

Being part of the @sndbox incubator, it's time we step things up and become more active! We are working on a number of additions to the curation lineup as well as a few things that can help us make some much needed "real-world" impact. This includes a new website and some tie-ups with different brands and projects! We would love your input on how we can serve you better, and if you're doing any Hip Hop related projects, contests, challenges here on Steemit, let us know!


Have a listen to KRS-One on his track "Hip Hop Knowledge" for some inspiration!


HHTB Follow.gifFooter_hhtb.png

Sort:  

this will be my favorite segment for sure

Great bro! Glad to see you kicking off your Steemit journey!

Very cool. I hope you do justice as hip hop music and culture has been wack for a long time.

Thanks @mikeycolon, I guess it all depends where you look. Sure in the mainstream you're gonna find an exponential amount of the "wackness" and we can also come to conclusions on why that is. But the foundation is still strong and we gonna continue to strengthen it!

I hope so as it heavily influenced who I am today.

But I knot that things go in cycles as my mom couldn't stand or even care to listen to my 90's hip hop. It's the same with me now... my nephew tries to make me listen to what he listens to (e.g. Tekashi69 and some other knuckleheads) and I'm like WTF are you listening to?!

But I used to listen to NWA, 2 Live Crew, PE, Mobb Deep, Wu Tang, etc so I really can't say much. But today's rap music can't compare to the 90's and 80's.

Just my 2 cents - now get off my lawn!

That's one of the goals of Hip Hop The Blockchain. In as much as inclusiveness is important, in dealing with the "wackness" it becomes a challenge, so our focus is to provide valuable resources and push the idea of using Hip Hop as the vehicle for ones own self-expression. We would love to have you on board in respect to #graffiti if you'd be interested @mikeycolon!

I'd be down - but truth be told I'm a bit of a New York snob. LOL

When out of towners came into town to paint, their work had to be really outstanding to grab my attention.

Lemme know what you need and if anything I can get some new video interviews from legit NYC graffiti legends. Plus I have a humungous archive of graffiti pictures (even subway pics that I have blessings to use).

20051024-GFFGF.JPG

Lemme know what you have in mind and I can be reached at [email protected]

Thanks @mikeycolon I'm sure you have many amazing gems that the community would love to see! Yes, we will email you!

Sounds good. I'm on standby.

👊

Wohoooooo.. nice segment. @hhtb is on fire...

Posted using Partiko Android

excited to finally be doing a segment for @hhtb!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82