You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Power of Experience: Trusting our Senses Versus Relying on Standards

in #sndbox6 years ago

I love the human measurements - a yard, a foot, all had relationships to body parts. When I was in Dubrovnik I loved how the tiles were the size of a grown man's thigh as the mud of the earth was pummelled and shaped over that 'standared' measurement. When we built our kitchen I was standing and reaching things to get a 'sense' of the distance of where things should be. I guess they need those kind of standards in building for interchangeability of appliances, benchtops and so on, when you're buying stuff from stores, but I love more organic building that's moulded to individuals. J. laughs at me as in the car I only have two volumes - off and really fucking loud. Who needs numbers on the dial,, huh?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I sometimes think of forgotten measurement like cubists or spans. Number make me uncomfortable sometimes...

The tile standard you mentioned is interesting. I'm always wondering why things are the way they are. So much of industrial materials are made to be easy to use and interchange (a good thing) but I often wonder what is lost in the process.

On the whole they do make things easier, but I rarely choose the easy route, maybe it's time I think of doing so...

On and f-Ing loud, haha, love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61195.86
ETH 3009.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80