Get better at writing!

in #sndbox6 years ago (edited)

free-writing-1-728.jpg

1


Writing

As we all know, writing is an important part of learning a language. If you want to educate your students in an efficient way, you should be careful at choosing your methods and activities to help them get better at writing. You may ask your students to work in pairs or on their own. It is up to your decision. I prefer to have both ways, depending the level of students and their preferences.

As you may know, students usually feel down when you present them boring and useless ideas. So , teachers have to make sure that the topics that they choose for writing activity must be interesting. If you are not sure about the topic, you may also ask your students ıf there is anything that they want to write about. There is nothing wrong about this, it actually shows how much you care about them and their wishes.


continue-road-clouds.jpg

2


Free writing

There are some methods that I prefer in my classes. One of them is free writing. As you may guess from the words, it is about writing whatever your students prefer. There is no limit in their works as long as they come out with something meaningful and clear. In this case, your students can feel more relaxed and feel less worried about the results of their works.

In addition to this, you can also write some key words on the board and ask them to continue with that word. For example, If you write a sentence about the most interesting places to live, you may ask them to complete the sentence. The sentence might start with this statement " If I had a chance to choose my city, I would....". It is a great prompt for them, I am sure many of them will present amazing ideas.


describe-pictures-in-english-13-638.jpg

3


Describe the picture!

If your students complain about lack of inspiration or have some problems in finding topics to write about, you may ask them some pictures on the board, so they can have something visual which can help to put something on their papers. As I am an active teacher, I usually have writing skill lessons for my students. I generally use this method for A1-A2 English language learners.

Here, there is a good exercises for writing about a picture. You may ask your students to describe the people they see in the images. This is an amazing exercises to motivate them to use adjectives and learn sentence forms effectively. As they have something to write about, they can easily produce their works and feel proud of their works at the end.


img3068142.jpg

4


Dialogue

Writing a dialogue is a method that I prefer when I usually teach my students grammar. Let's think about teaching past simple. If you want your students to use the language effectively, you may ask them to write dialogues in pairs. By doing this, they can share ideas and reveal their work by working in pairs. This will help your students feel more confidence as they are in pairs or groups.

When I ask my students to work in pairs, they usually love it a lot. As they realize that they can come up with amazing ideas, they generally make the dialogues longer than I expected. However, it is totally fine for me. As long as they work eagerly and get busy with the language, I am the happiest person ever in classroom. When they are happy while learning the language you are teaching, there is no problem at all.


U5dqonZkFubZer84fPySQfd8uQ1R492_1680x8400.png


Education

If you have any tips to share with me and other educators, you are welcome to point them out in comment section. Sharing is caring.

As a proud member of @Sndbox, I support @steemiteducation community since they work a lot to help people who put effort in creating valuable contents on Steemit platform. Thank you for reading and Steem on!


follow_teachblogger.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31