SndBox Cohort 2 and my steemit ambitions for the next 4 months.

in #sndbox6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians,

Recently, I had the honor of being selected to be part of the @SndBox Cohort 2 for Steemit content creators. This was a wonderful reward for me after almost four months of working on Project Giving in collaboration with SndBox.

Unfortunately for my readers, yet fortunate for me, I have been on a wonderful roadtrip in South Africa, the land of my birth, over the past two weeks which has limited how much I could upload to Steemit. However, this will change once I am able to return to Canada and am reunited with my computer where I will be able to sort out all the pictures I have been taking and share them with you all.

In this blog, I hope to share with you all some of the topics that I will be blogging about in collaboration with @SndBox until the end of the cohort 2 program which will be ending in November. This is also an exercise in re-introduction so I'll share a little blerb about who I am and what it is I do.


Me, circa 2017

My name is Tristan and I am a 23 year old living in Ottawa Canada. Im half South African and half Canadian, but have been fortunate enough to travel as far around the world as I have been able to afford over the past few years. During these travels I began to take up photography which was the first step into this journey of blogging online.

Before I joined steemit, I knew very little about cryptocurrency... But slowly as I started to blog more on this site, I became fascinated by the real world implications that blockchain could have on the word. This understanding was realized when along with some other Steemians and @SndBox, I founded Project Giving, an NGO which seeks to raise funds through Steemit and the blockchain for small scale charities around the world.

Now that you know a little more about me, let me tell you about some of the projects I seek to work on in the coming months.


Photography tutorials

As I have expressed multiple times on this blog, Photography is the reason why I am here writing this blog. It was the hobby that allowed me to begin to share my creative content with people, and along with those pictures, I began to share words, stories and tips about those images here on Steemit.

So now that I have been given this opportunity to work with SndBox, the first task on my agenda will be to start doing bi-monthly photography tutorials where I share some of the essential skills for photography which I have learnt over the years. I know that many Steemians seek to improve their photography to add substance to their blogs and so I believe this will be a great series for many members of the community.


The world through my lens

Taken in Cuzco, Peru - One of my trips which I would love to talk more about!

Over the past couple of years, I have taken more than 20,000 pictures... Some of them are terrible, some of them are stunning, but most of them are yet to be shared with the rest of the world.

Thus, I can't think of a better way to re-live some of my fondest international adventures then starting a weekly series where I create a little photo based travel guide to some obscure location somewhere around the world.


Untitled international relations & politics blog

My one regret on this blog so far, beyond not being as active as I wish I could have been, has been my inability to branch my content into other topics which interest me. As I have said before, I currently study politics, international relations and African studies in University. However, beyond stating this fact, I have done little to no sharing on my interest in these topics...

I hope though that some time over the next couple of months, I will be able to share some of my political works and opinions. So far, some of the ideas I have had is creating a short weekly blog of interesting political pieces that everyone might have missed. Other wise, I am also currently writing my Honors Research Essay in the effects of Donald Trump's foreign policy on the global liberal world order... While this might sound boring, I sure know I could make a weekly series on this sound fascinating for you all!


So there you go, hopefully there are some ideas in this blog that you can look forward to reading in the coming weeks and months. I also want to extend a quick thank you to @sndbox both for being on board to help me out with these projects and also bearing with me as I get them off the ground.

Until next time,
Tristan

Sort:  

Sir please tell me which is the best camera for photography

Hey pal! Thats a great question... If you are new to photography, I would recommend a Nikon D3400 or a Canon T6i, they are pretty cheap and great value! But best overall, in my opinion, is currently the Nikon D850.

Thx sir for give information

Sir check my picture. On my post me post my first photography

Great to hear of your plans for your blog over the next few months @tristanoliff. I look forward to the photo based travel guide's especially. Hope the travels are going great? :-)

Holler at me on discord when you get back from SA :-)

Congratulations @tristanoliff! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tristanoliff! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tristanoliff! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59