A Minnow Who Wants to Be a Whale (Sndbox Summer Camp Sociology -Task 1)

in #sndboxquest6 years ago (edited)

images (1).png
source: worldartsme.com

I have been joined Steemit since January 2018. I created the account because of many my friends always talked about it. They told me about how much SBD they got after posting some articles, about vote and up vote. Every day I heard and I read about Steemit from my friends.

At first I glazed over with Steemit. I still preferred shout out at my social media or my personal blog than this platform. However, after several times stalking about Steemit, I encouraged myself to create Steemit account.

"Why Steemit do not approve my account," I asked to my friend after signing up the email. "You said that Steemit will approve the account in 24 hours. I have waited for a week and I still don't get my account," I almost gave up at that time.

"Be patient," said my friend, " and you have to be more patient when you are in Steemit world."

I didn't understand and didn't want to be understood with that sentence during that time. I gave up and I din't care again about Steemit.

After few weeks, I read my email and I found an email from Steemit. It was a confirmation email about account aproval. "Horray, my Steemit's account is approved!" I yelled.

"Hello darling! The game just began. Having Steemit's account doesn't mean you will become a whale which eat minnows. You still a newbie. The newbie in Steemit is like a minnow in the SeaWorld." My friend explained me about the level of Steemit World.

"Am I a minnow? It means I am just a small fish or a plankton that can be eaten by big fish? How pity I am!"

"Yes, you are a very small fish in Steemit world. You're as same as the dust in the bottle. Can't be seen. And you are nothing until you upgrade yourself to be a dolphin and at the end to be a whale," my friend really underestimated me.

"Minnows, Dolphins, Whales, what are those meaning?"
20180406_221516_0001.png

"Before answering your question, I want to ask you something. What does motivate you to become Stemian?" asked my friend.

"Honestly, I am really interested to SBD. I need money, everyone needs money."

"Do you think Steemit will make you become a rich woman instantly?"

"Why not!"

"Just close your account or throw away your password and get out from Steemit world!" my friend looked angry.

Forgetting my Steemit's password is same as getting it thrown away. Yes, I can't loose my password because Steemit's password can't be recovered. I have an experience about loosing the password and I have to say goodbye to my another account: @dokterliza

"Why do you say like that? Do I make any mistake if I want to get money from Steemit?

"Yes, if you think you can get a lot of bitcoins without any effort, without creating a quality article regularly, and without socializing with another Stemian. Remember, you're just a minnow!"

"Okay. Now, please tell me about the minnow, dolphin, and whale."

"Be patient!"

My friend really made me angry. If I didn't need her explanation I would pull her hair. She had over the line.

However, she's right, I had to be more patient.

"Well, there are three kinds of fish in Steemit Sea, Whales, Dolphins, and Minnows. When a whale gives a vote, it contains more than 15 bitcoins, a dolphin's vote contains between 0.01 bitcoins and 15 bitcoins, and a minnow's vote just conatains less than 0.01 bitcoins. That's why I said you're nothing!"

"And now tell me how to be a whale?"

"Posting the original and quality article regularly, making friends by following and commenting another post, voting another post, and be patient. I believe you will be a whale and a successful Stemian."

"How if I ask another Stemian especially the dolphin and the whale to vote my article?"

Screenshot_2018-03-25-08-56-54_com.vuclip.viu-01.jpeg

"That's up to you!"

What happens to me now? Do I become a whale after several months in Steemit World? Nope. I am still a minnow. Do I get a lot of SBD? No, I don't. As a minnow, my article only voted by another minnow and it happens accidentally.

"Whale, Whale in Steemit Sea, please follow my account and vote my article. If you don't vote nor follow I don't want to be your bait anymore and you'll be hungry. Hahaha," I think I become crazy.

Why? Why you're still a small fish? It is because I don't follow what my beloved friend taught. I don't write a quality article regularly, I don't follow, read, comment, and vote another Stemian's post.

I created @gilakorea account because I was very obsessed with Korean Drama. I wanted to write a review about all Korean Dramas I have ever watched. Unfortunately, I can't manage my time. I am still wasting my free time by doing something unimportant. I know, I have to change my attitude if I want to be succeed in Steemit World. I must be focused if I want to reach something big.

Sort:  

Semoga sukses ya Bu Dokter! :)

Terima kasih pak haya :)

@GuyFawkes4-20, @martibis and @fingersik. We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

This is a courtesy of @anomadsoul

What a good news for me in this sunny morning. Thank @sndbox-alpha

Congratulations @gilakorea! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71