Sndbox summer camp: summary of contributions and final reflections on the @steem-times project

in #sndboxquest6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Sndbox summer camp: summary of contributions and final reflections on the @steem-times project


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

Thanks for this feedback, I'd been wondering how it was going and aware that I hadn't commented on your "first thoughts" post. I think, though, my thoughts have been shared by other members of the tesm.
The main thing that strikes me about this (apart from the potential impact) is the huge amount if work involved - I don't think this is always recognised.
On your last point, how does this objectivity relate to your post about the steem whitepaper? That seemed more optimistic, have you changed your view?
From a pragmatic point of view, it's just taken me all morning to write half of the post I intended to write - the website was slow and clunky - and there is the ongoing problem of the orientation of pictures. It is not an easy or pleasant experience to blog here sometimes, and combined with the challenges of steem/steemit overall, I'm not surprised activity is decreasing.
I take the point about future scale, but it is a bit of a losing-the-will experience.

What can I say - I have contradictory feelings about steem.

NB - the optimism in the blue paper post wasn't for steemit - it was for steem - I think the future of the blockchain lies off the steemit platform.

As to this place a blogging platform - I agree- it is truly awful.

What keeps me going with the @steem-times project is that it overlaps with my wish to study the platform - even if this means charting its demise, it's still to my benefit as an academic.

Otherwise it's tough here, just as a blogging platform.

Many many thank you@gentlebot boss..

okay, the optimism in the bluepaper was for steem and I understand about steemit not being the end goal, but slightly disconcerting if @penguinpablo's stats are also for steem rather than Steemit.
I can appreciate your interest in the platform (steemit?) regardless of the outcome. I'm just going through my second iteration of a process, hopefully improved from the experience of the first; so any learning here will have benefit in the future.
Perhaps things will be better with steempress :)

Had the chance to read this now and we hope the best for @steem-times and the Steem ecosystem in general. We can see your concerns for the future and we hope a couple of our projects can change the look of Steemit and in turn help Steem. It is an ever-evolving space and naturally it can take any shape or form.

You are just decided to depress me at the end eh? @revisesociology. You couldn't leave a glimmer of hope in the horizon?

Good work so far in turning an idea into something tangible. I appreciate your effort as well as every other member of the team. Bless up bro.

Cheers! It was nice working with you.

I-m sure steemit will turn itself around - all it needs is the co-operation of 17 witnesses!

Interesting write up and great to see how @steem-times evolved in the planning stages.

Good luck and i cant wait to see this project, i do really hungry for good quality news that tells the truth with decentralized system. Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87