You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SnOwregon 2019 (Continued) ~ Part 1B: THE PAIN--Installment Two ~ How To Lose Massive Amounts Of Sleep Pulling Snow In A Major Weather Event ~ Original Photography and Original Discussion About Snow Management In Parts ~

Whoa yes that is a proper amount of cement snow! I for win think mittens are under-rated. Gloves are ok, but eventually my fingers get cold. My finger do better when nestled together in a mitten! I think the baggies are ingenious. They work well and you cant beat the price: win - win!

I love that gif! However, I got to say that falling off that ladder is a real possibility! I cant think of a better way. Even a JLG scissor lift would likely get stuck. I suppose a pickup bed is a bit too short?

The one remedy I am slowly working on is to move to warmer climes, but it sure is pretty there! That gazebo looks really strong! Well done. Just be safe!

Sort:  

I concur, mittens are the only way to go. As are giant bags on your hands. I won't win any style awards, but then that is an uphill row anyway. Style is as style does, and I doesn't have much.

I'd love to have a scissors lift for all sorts of chores. Though snow tires wouldn't have even helped in this little job. I do know of some pretty serious injuries from ladder/gutter/roof falls of not that far off the ground...really sad, and something to always consider. A lift would definitely help in this regard. Then again, gotta be pricey. I DO have a giant ladder that is SO stable, and have thought about a harness system for working on the roof. I have the harness, just need the ropes. I should get it working.
I read once about a guy who tied a rope to his waist while cleaning the gutter, then over the house and tied it to the car bumper in the drive. Then someone got in the car to go to the store, and drove off, dragging him off the roof. He was OK, but a nutty story. Not sure if it's true or urban legend, but I don't think I'd take that tact. Or make sure to put a sign on the steering wheel-"Do Not drive car, I'm on the roof."

I do hope you make it to the warmer climes, one day soon. That would make life so much easier than in the snow. Plus, we can all come visit you O :
Have a nice Wednesday, and hope this newest storm isn't lambasting you too badly. We've gone up to 57 degrees. Talk about a weather yoyo...

Ugh, snow! When we were kids we would put bread bags on our feet over our socks and then put on our boots, It always seemed to make them that much 'more' "Waterproof" of course how I saw snow at 10 is different now...I think if I had a child, though, I'd see it in my 10 year old eyes again. Who can say?

I hope you get some warmth and I didn't think you got snow like that out West.

I'm back at Toad Hall finally...today weather is said to be 50 F! And the snow is almost all gone, thank God. I'm so sick of it all. To see the grass and start planting seeds in windowsills for Spring is So exciting. Also, I've been having trouble getting online and on Steemit the past couple days so it only pushes me to be more unplugged, a state I'm not hard to get to normally. I wonder what is up?

keep shoveling!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63626.14
ETH 3107.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87