Buttercup Squash

in #socalsteemit5 years ago (edited)

20190716_080531.jpg

Here's a garden winner! Lovely little green pumpkins, dangling on the trellis. Well, technically they are a type of turban squash called "Buttercup".

20190717_181703.jpg

So far, I have harvested about 6 of these. It would have been twice that had I not mistakenly pruned the main vine. Oops! Besides that and the powdery mildew, it's amazing how resilient and generous this squash is.

20190716_080548.jpg

The small, round fruit lends itself well to stuffing.

20190717_183210.jpg

I cut off the tops for lids, and scraped out the seed cavity. It's a heritage variety, so I am saving some to plant next year.

20190717_185811.jpg

I browned up some Italian sausage with red onion and vegetables from the garden. Then I packed it into the two Buttercups and topped with shredded cheese. Toothpicks held on the lids.

20190717_191904.jpg

After about an hour at 375°:

20190717_215806.jpg

Tender golden flesh packed full of delicious sausage. The flesh is very sweet and creamy, not pulpy.

20190717_215859.jpg

I know I will reserve some of these Buttercup beauties for Thanksgiving!

Have a blessed day <3

Love,cat
@creationofcare

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @simms50 on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Beautiful squash, I do thing same type of recipe with Butternut squash. I don't think I have ever had a Buttercup squash, but they look de-lish.

They are new to me, too. They taste very much like butternut :)
Thanks for stopping by!

We grow our own butternut squash and just love the sweet-buttery taste. So if your squash tastes like that, I'm in!

This year, I have one of each. I am just about to roast a butternut for some bisque, in fact! Isn't it so satisfying growing your own food?
Cheers!

We love buttercup squash here at Kindred Acres. Delicious! I just might add that to my list of things to plant next year since we didn't grow any this year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69512.95
ETH 3883.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73