SoCal Steemit Meetup at the "Home to the worlds largest pizza"

in #socalsteemit6 years ago (edited)

BM&P SCS Meetup Cover.jpg

We had another #SoCalSteemit Meetup!


We've been trying to plan at least one Steemit meetup for the SoCal Steemit group every month. For this month @csusbgeochem1 had invited us all to meetup at Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria in Eagle Rock, CA. The "Home to the worlds largest pizza"!!

The day came and it was a perfect warm sunny day. I drew up a small sign to identify the group, then I got on my computer and got the address and directions. I had to write it all down as I had just lost my phone a few days earlier and wouldn't be able to look anything up once I left my house. I also messaged @csusbgeochem1 on Discord and told him I'd meet him there. I didn't get a response but it was time to go so I just hit the road and figured I'd see him there.

But then just as I was getting ready to leave I checked my camera... and it wouldn't work! I knew the baterries were getting low and figured they had just died. So I hit the road with the plan of making a quick stop at the Wal-Mart by my house to pick up a small pack of AAA batteries.

DSCF0005.jpg
Leaving my neighborhood


...Well of course it wasn't quick...

I went around the entire store before realizing all the batteries were at one of the registers. So I hop in line... at this point I already knew I was gonna be a bit late so I was really trying to hurry. I get the batteries, get out to my truck, pop the new batteries in the camera, and... NOTHING!! Ahhhhh! So at this point I assume the camera is totally broke and race back into Wal-Mart to buy a cheap camera. Of course they keep them all locked up so I had to find an employee to help me. Then again through the line and back out to the truck, I pop the batteries in the new camera, go to pop in the SD card and... the new camera only takes the big SD cards and all I had was the little ones!! Double Ahhhhh! I didn't even know they still used the big ones, all the cameras I've had recently have used the small cards. So I had to drive back to my house to get a big SD card. All this really sucked, but I had to have a working camera. Now at this point I knew I was going to be really late. And without my phone I couldn't tell anyone what was going on. I jumped on the 210 freeway and raced out to Eagle Rock as quick as I could. The traffic was not helping!

DSCF0006.jpg
In traffic on the 210 freeway

DSCF0008.jpg
Red lights in Eagle Rock, CA

I finally got to the Pizzeria, found a parking spot, put some quarters in the parking meter, and headed inside. Sitting inside I found @zingali, @jnetsworld, @wfmkay, and @kunschj who were there enjoying the delicious pizza! This was my first time meeting all these members in real life. So I introduced myself, apologized for being so late, taped my sign on the table, and then immediately jumped into conversation with my new friends!

DSCF0009.jpg
From left to right - @zingali, @jnetsworld, @wfmkay, and @kunschj

DSCF0016.jpg
My SoCal Steemit sign

We talked about Steemit, the SoCal Steemit group, Crypto currencies, and lots of other topics! We talked and talked, and at one point I realized I had been there for over a half hour and hadn't even placed an order yet! That's what happens when you're having fun. I took a look at the menu and ordered a garden salad and a medium veggie pizza. I saw the box they use for their giant pizza... it was HUGE!! I can't believe they make pizzas that big. I got my food and it was absolutely delicious. It's not the cheapest, but definitely excellent quality food. We continued to chat as I ate my food. Everyone was really enjoying the conversations.

DSCF0010.jpg
The menu

DSCF0011.jpg
The huge box for their "Giant Sicilian" pizza

DSCF0014.jpg
Me and my veggie pizza

DSCF0015.jpg
Mmmmm...

DSCF0013.jpg
@kunschj's badass anime Steemit shirt!

We hung out chatting for a few hours, but after refilling the parking meters a few times it was eventually time to go. Back home through the freeway traffic on the 210. I had lots of fun meeting everyone, thank you all so much for coming!! I look forward to more meetups in the future, getting to meet more members, and continuing to grow this awesome community!

Thank you all for coming!

#socalsteemit.jpg

*All photos by @derekrichardson

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 34.138786 lat -118.213321 long Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria d3scr)
Steemit World Map

CMA banner3.jpg

https://www.californiamountainadventure.com
https://www.facebook.com/CAmountainadventures
Contact me on Discord

Dividerbar.jpg

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

Dividerbar.jpg

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Dividerbar.jpg

image.png

Dividerbar.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, this looks like so much fun! @joechiappetta and I have been out of town lately, so we are sorry to have missed it. Especially since Eagle Rock is so close to us in Pasadena :/

Had a great time! Looking forward to next time. Thanks to @kaylinart for designing the "badass anime Steemit shirt." If you'd like one of your own, they're on amazon.com

As a lover of ALL things PIZZA- THANK you for this post!
What a great way to have a meet-up... great people with some hot PIZZA!

Thanks for putting the meet up group together. We had a lot of fun and the pizza was great👍 See you next month.

It was great meeting you and @kunschj. I'm stoked to have you guys in the group!

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

It was so nice meeting real living breathing steemians! If I could, I would upvote every conversation we had. I'm looking forward to meeting up in the future.

I love this post @derekrichardson! How awesome it must be to actually meet people face to face after talking with them for so long. It must be a little weird and mind-blowing in some ways too, because if you're anything like me, you develop your own mental images of what people are like and let's face it, most of the time, it doesn't really match up haha

Good for you to organize it though; of course the batteries and camera didn't cooperate with your schedule :)

Oh... I actually thought that you guys would have bought the giant pizza together.

But really sorry that you have to make so many diverted trails as your camera was broken. There was one time I remembered to bring my camera but forgotten about the memory card, and that costs me a bomb too...

lesson learned: always check triple times before heading out to any events.


And that's the beauty about meetups. Like minded writers and content creators can chat for hours and never felt any time wasted.

upvoted

We didn't have enough people there to eat a giant pizza, that thing was huge! They actually have a contest where if 7 people can eat it in less than 2 hours they'll win $1,000. Maybe at a future meetup where we've got enough people we could attempt the contest. It would be really tough though, we'd need some big eaters. The giant pizza is a 4.5 foot square!

It's really great to have meet-up with another fellow Steemians, you guys seems to have lots of fun. I never seen a pizza so huge before... :D

#steemitbloggers

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=derekrichardson
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=socal-steemit-meetup-at-the-home-to-the-worlds-largest-pizza


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87