Why Am I Playing Pinball?

in #socalsteemit6 years ago (edited)

hello-i-m-nik-647828-unsplash.jpg
(Photo Credit : HelloI'mNik)

Over the last 4 weeks, I've noticed similarities in my frequent conversations. First of all, I'm giddy with excitement as I tell my friends that I got a new "job" and that I'm a "Professional Pinball Player." Anyone that knows me understands that I use humor to make people feel good and break ice. The facial expressions I get, as the word "pinball" rolls off of my tongue are priceless.

Pure hysterics usually ensue and the people that enjoy a good round of pinball are eager to hear about every excruciating detail of how I stumbled upon this new "job", what the criterion is to become a "professional", what IFPA means (International Flipper Pinball Association) and how "league play" goes down.

I've decided not to participate in the league play for Season 4 because of cost constraints and that I am studying for my U.S. Customs Broker Exam (next article). I have enough distractions in my life and I really want to pass this exam and eventually get a Masters degree, so I have to remain focused on that. Pinball is going to serve as a "quick fix" solution, when I need to blow off steam (errrr. steem) and having a few tournaments on my calendar will give me something to look forward to, in the future.

There are two ways to earn points towards a ranking in the IFPA : by participating in tournaments or by being in a league. The ideal situation is league play because that's where the points add up, but my time constraints prevent me from doing that. The tournaments will help me figure out whether I have a true passion for this or whether it's a nice "phase" I'm going through. Either way, it should make for some fantastic article content and I hope to discover new arcade venues and meet some cool people.

The main reason I choose to participate in these "professional" pinball outings is to breakup my normal routine. I find myself getting into ruts and doing the same boring things. It's good to meet new people, from time to time, and change up the pace. I've had a love of pinball, since the 1970s, and I figured this might be a great way to blow off steam, meet people and have some great stories to tell over a meal.

Life is what you make it. You only get one shot at it (unless you're me and get spared). I like to use a hashtag #jolt

My real name is Joe.

#JOLT was not only a delicious cola from the 80s and 90s, it's also a moniker for my life moving forward.

J oe
O nly
L ives
T wice

#jolt

I have to throw humor at that whole event because if I don't it can become dark and I choose joy, rather than live in the dark and be a miserable bastard. I want to be a joyous bastard, dammit! Anyway, I play pinball because I choose joy. Technically, we only have one life and I'm going to follow the Shawshank Redemption Creed :

"Get Busy Living or Get Busy Dying"

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

Congrats on living out what you love and making the most of new experiences! I see this is tagged Pasadena. I live in Pasadena, do you too?

Altadena, now.

@zingali you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Congratulations @zingali! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71