Gender relations: Just because a woman speaks to a man, does not mean she is hitting on him.

Just wanted to put that out there, because apparently, much to my surprise, a large number of men believe that if a woman speaks to them, she is hitting on them or flirting with them.
I felt kind of naive to realize I had previously been unaware of this. I wish I could remember where I read this study, but it appeared to be a well designed reputable study with sound analysis and drew from large samples in diverse locations.
It appeared this was more of a phenomenon that affected men over 45, but not always.
Let me just say, we are social beings. It is normal to want to connect and interact with other humans. If a person speaks to you, please try not to draw any preconceived ideas about their motives.
Isn't it better to be friendly than hostile? More, now than ever.

Sort:  

I wish I could up-vote this to infinity. My wife and I have had to explain this reality to our daughters, sad to say.

Agree! I can sort of understand how over 45's are this way. I think my age and below schools were only just starting to mix gender, so for me, it's natural when women want to be my friend. Probably not so natural for my Grandad though!

Great post @mocknbird! Loving it all. Nice to have steemians like you on steemit. Just so know... deep down, I believe you will do great things. This is only the beginning, I believe in you!

We can be best buddies. Good news, I shared your post and followed you, follow me back  to share the excitement!


Have fun!

Aha, funny @arayebrown. Of course I'm human!

Little tip for you my Friend!

  • First step to winning the heart of your audience is replying comments on time
  • Don't worry, you will thank me later


    I'm following, you have not followed me yet?

    Congratulations @mocknbird! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

    Award for the number of upvotes

    Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
    For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

    If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

    By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.27
    TRX 0.11
    JST 0.030
    BTC 69081.21
    ETH 3809.03
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 3.50