You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Does Content Go Viral on Reddit?

Someone told me I shouldn't do posts that don't accept rewards because people don't earn curation rewards so they won't vote on it. Just because you don't earn curation rewards will determine if that content should be voted on? Something is off about that behavior no?

Sort:  

Yeah, I agree. I begrudgingly programmed my bot to stop voting for payout-witheld articles when I realized they'd earn no rewards.

So what's the answer: stop paying curation rewards on all posts? Start paying curation rewards to payout-witheld posts? I think both ideas have merit...

Just not use bots. Read the posts and decide to vote on or not. You don't have to vote on every post. You do it for the curation rewards. Not saying that's wrong. It's something we can change by the majority to just not use bots.

I could choose to outsource food that I buy to save money but buying local produce helps the local economy in farming. It's not illegal to outsource things in most cases but there's pros and cons. Ultimately if we just buy local produce, our local farmers would not be struggling.

It all starts with us as an individual

I'd argue the exact opposite, that it has absolutely nothing to do with the individual and everything to do with the incentives. In Steemit, the incentives are a design choice. Let's make them incentivize the right thing!

Is it the right thing to incentivize to do the right thing? Can't you choose to do the right thing, without an incentive?

I think there's at least some fallacy of composition in that. An individual can choose to do the right thing, but when society is composed of many individuals, a single choice may not make any difference at all. This is because as soon as I make a choice to stop doing the wrong thing, someone else will chase the money that I've left on the table and take my place doing the wrong thing.

Why would we want to continue offering people incentives to do that?

Something is off indeed. Intrinsic authentic motivation to engage in evaluation is being overridden by the extrinsic motivator for monetary rewards.

The same reason people refuse to upvote a post after the initial 24 hour window just because there won't be a curation reward, despite the fact that they appreciate the post.
This actions, knowingly or otherwise, can discourage the people who take their time to create quality content.
Imagine all the work put into this post and it ends up earning less than a dollar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70572.77
ETH 3817.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53