You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Does Content Go Viral on Reddit?

in #socialmedia7 years ago

Thank you, @krnel, for a very instructive and thought provoking piece...

As one of "the 1%" (in the context of your article), I truly long for an actual readership that will, more or less, regularly read, and, more often than not, truly benefit from my writing.

I would also, of course, love to have a "magic formula" that might aid in making the articles that I feel to be of particular value "go viral." I have actually been working on an article about virality...

I'd love to hear your thoughts and ideas on how the "problems" you describe in the way voting actually works might be addressed... if such is even possible. Especially in the context of Steemit, where I have been expending much of my efforts of late. ;) 😄😇😄

@creatr

Sort:  

I would like to know the magic formula as well :P It doesn't exist, I don't think.

Can you mention a specific problem for me to address? Thanks.

I of course realize there's no "magic formula." However, the very existence of the internet makes such a thing as "virality" at least possible for the first time in recorded history.

I guess the "problem" that I most wonder about is this:

"The active 10% determine and drive the ideas that the rest of the 90% of the users, and everyone else in the public, is exposed to and influenced by."

And, I further surmise, that it is likely inherently insoluble... It is, in effect, the "advertising" problem; i.e. the answer to the perennial question "How do I get the attention of the largest portion of the set of people who would truly benefit from what I have to offer?" When that set of people decline to participate, the problem may be an intractable one...

90% are just the viewers. They aren't interested in creating or building the organization, social media or otherwise in society. Many ways things are structured, result in some people having more power than others, more influence in what gets decided, or liked, or upvoted, etc. When we feel powerless to affect change, we adopt learned helplessness and don't seek to do anything about it anymore.

The way to correct the problem is to understand and raise awareness of self-knowledge to understand how we are being fooled, and are fooling ourselves. It's going to take a long time to take time to learn and let go of falsity we are attached to in society, so that things can get on a better track/direction. This is a lot of work for each individual, and that's why some people don't think it's even possible, so they don't try, and nothing will indeed change that way since learned helplessness is adopted ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67859.32
ETH 3799.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67