3 weeks without smartphone

in #socialmedia5 years ago

Some weeks ago we (me and my wife) decided to put my smartphone away. The official reason was that I had "lost it". That was what we told our son. (He was the reason why we put it away).

I put it in my office so I had possibilty to use it when I work (use it in work) But no smartphone at freetime.
So no facebook, twitter, steemit, scorum, or mail at daytime. OK - I will be honest I have checked all this when my son has go to bed - at a computer.

I have an OLD phone at my home. You know that kind of phone that has buttoms!!! I have it to my sons school one day and a little girl said "OH - what is this??" A phone for this kids is a smartphone - nothing else.

PICTURE ( No I did not find any)
I checked Pixabay after a phone with buttoms. Did not find it. If you search (in swedish) for phone you will only see extremly old phones or smartphones. No one was that I use. But I know that you know what I am talking about.


THE RESULT - the bad things

  1. One day my wife had to go to hospital with our son. I did get a sms from my wife "Please find the number to our nighbour". That was hard with an old phone witout internet. But I did the OLD style. I stoped a man at the street and tell him that this was a emergency and I needed heltp. IT WORKED but at that point I was angry at the old phone.

  2. I did not get any sms.
    I did a redirect of al calls that comes to my smartphone to my older phone. So if someone called me after worktime I get the call. BUT I couldn´t redirect sms. So people sent sms to me and did not get answer until next day when I did go to work.

3, less steemit
Now I check my social media once a day and sometimes that feels a little bit boring. Maybe you have noticed that I am not so active at Steemit as before. But I am still here :-)


THE RESULT - The good things

  1. I get so much freetime - OR BETTER freetime
    ()
    If you use your smartphone all day - keep on doing it. I am not saying that you should do what I did. We all have different way to make life better and this was one of my ways.

My time with my son has been SO MUCH better. If he say "I want to play at your phone" and I just show him my old phone - After that no more "fights" about that. This is a phone without games So we have to make somethig together.

When I see that this is good for him - it is good for me. If he is fine and happy - I am happy. So this is to biggest positive thing.

2, More focus
Do you have children? If you have you know that life can be like a puzzle with no solution. The solution for someone is to have everyting at the phone. Calender and contacts. For me it was exactly the opposit. NOw I have more focus at work, at family and at social meda (when I am here)


FUTURE

I will keep on doing this some weeks more. Just fix so the sms goes to right phone after worktime. But the result has been good. Better than I thought in the beginning.

It has been like an digital detox. Maybe it is good to sometimes think about what we need to take detox from. With my familylife just now it was my smartphone. Next time maybe it is something else.

SEE YOU

Pictruresource:

https://pixabay.com/sv/fickur-tiden-f%C3%B6r-sand-tid-klocka-3156771/

Sort:  

Well that is a great experience. Our parent had to do it with no smartphone or even internet!
We are so used to having all the information direct at hand.

Which I could do this. But then who would run my drug empire :)

Are you playing that drug empire game at steem? Fun?

Posted using Partiko Android

It is! Really should try it out. Also I do see it as an investment. At the moment I have invested 80 steem into and got 20 back. I will stop investing now and let it run!
Feel free to use my referral link :)
https://staging.drugwars.io/#!/ref/@fullcoverbetting

Thanks but No more games for me just now. I enjoy to see fotball at freetime. 100 scr up yesterday😁

Posted using Partiko Android

The advantage of this game is that it only takes 5 minutes per day!
😁
Also had a nice profit on betscorum yesterday!
Plus 200 I believe!

Nice ! Ajax played extremly Good so the result was not fair. But Madrid is Always Madrid. Good for me

Posted using Partiko Android

I was going to comment *"tough life!", but then I read your post more closely and understood that it actually good for you and your family. Very well! Congratulations on creating some more quality time with your son, without relying on electronics. If I had children (I don't), I would probably do the same. Cheers!

Yes it has been 3 special weeks but with Nice result. Sometimes you have to offer something to get something

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @minimining!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.983 which ranks you at #10841 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 28 places in the last three days (old rank 10813).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 216 contributions, your post is ranked at #164.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

@minimining You have only 2x resteem+upvote left. Please re-subscribe sending 0.4 and pizza in memo to get 30 more resteems + 30x $~0.02 upvotes - or in alternative register here and start mining JSEcoin on their website! It's free and super simple!

If you want infinite daily resteem + daily $~0.02 upvote you can simply delegate 20 SP with this link.
Reply OFF to turn off these expiration notifications (or if you've already re-subscribed - new credit gets applied after reaching 0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76