I am not what you think I am, nor what I think I am but I am what we both think I am.

in #socialmedia6 years ago

Many of you know that most of my posts on fridays and near the weekends usually verse around music and that kind of stuff mainly. And yeah, probably I'll post one of those later too. But for now, I want to share a couple of things with you first before putting you to stomp your feet.

A few hours ago I read an article by @rok-sivante about the effects of Social Media in our modern life. And as he says, all the intellectual onanism, attention-seeking, and all kinds of ridiculous immature shit we long to get while staying in these newfangled digital stages.

I've written before about how much we enjoy the ongoing addictions to that synthetic digital dopamine currently provided by our contemporary belief systems, within that collective unconscious, fed through the mercenary laboratories of artificial echo chambers. Artificial echo chambers created to exploit our weaknesses towards adulation, flattery and praise. The new brothels of the century XXI to 'buy' an easy smile whilst hoping for an epic intercourse.

And even more when they take advantage of our naivety and ignorance that while more we allow them deceptively massage our egos, more we fill 'their pockets' with money and filthy wealth in exchange of our precious time and by that short-alive sensation of feeling us High, Baked & Lit thru those ephemeral doses of likes, thumb ups, ¿upvotes? and fake attention which only reverberates amplifying and reinforcing our pre-existing views with pure confirmatory bias. A novel version of The Monte Carlo fallacy.

So, today I'm not what I think I am. I'm not what you think I am. I am what I think you think I am.

Our thinking about ourselves are nothing other than the sum of what we and others think about us. That's how our belief system usually develops.

For example, never has happened to you that someone suddenly is staring at you and immediately you check if anything is wrong with the way you look. Any hair out of place, any unmatched clothing, a piece of meatball hanging from your mustache, your beard or your tie, yeah crazy stuff like that? 🤔 C'mon, I've see you!

Yeah! until that moment you thought you looked fine. But you indeed are not what you think you are. What affects you most is neither what you think of yourself nor what other persons actually thinks about you but what you "presume" they think of you.

"The Human Mind Is Social"

The child learns that the symbol of their crying will elicit a response from his/her caregivers, not only when they are in need of necessities such as food or a diaper change, but also when the child is In Need Of Attention.

So, as my good friends @tarazkp & @denmarkguy also would write when they aboard these social subjects each time they've mentioned the phrase 'echo chamber' through the eloquent & coherent prose in their thought provoking articles and also as the ultimate summary of this post, I'm gonna ask you:

¿What you thought the words WTF really means?

«-.W.T.F.-»

Yeah! you catched it dear. Of course that means: ¡'Wow That's Fun'!

Leave a comment. Share your experiences and feedback. ¡Be part of the conversation!

«««-$-»»»

"Follows, Comments, Resteems & Upvotes will be highly appreciated"

Cranky Gandalf

Cheers!! :)

Sort:  

We put ourselves on display and dance the steps we have been taught in the misguided view that if we dance well enough, we will be accepted, we will be successful. While scores of us dance the same dance over and over. Those who are successful are dancing to their own tune paying no heed to the mass stomping like stormtroopers to the beat of one drum.

Wise words my dear friend. Now, I have no choice but musicalize such big truth!! };)

Little do most know, they just end up dancing, attention-seeking monkeys... lol :-)

haha. indeed.

Your post has been manually curated by the Many Voices Project. The MV Project exists to promote diversity and difference on the blockchain. If you would like to support our work and that of our Founder @sapphic Please consider voting for her witness via steemconnect

Thank you @many-voices and to your cute master @sapphic for your very welcome resteem, upvote and well appreciated comment. :)

I'm very glad that this post had catched your interest and obviously, also your wise manually curated good taste. LoL
Without a doubt your witness will count with my vote right away to add @sapphic to my very selective list of silent warriors and fav witnesses.

Cheers!! :)

@por500bolos Thank you very much for your lovely comment and many thanks for supporting my witness. xx

My pleasure dear @sapphic. Always will be the brave underdogs on this world like me, my preferred allies on any kind of battles. ;)

Our perception of ourselves can definitely be misinterpreted given the vast influx of information and feedback we are constantly dealing with. This can stem from overindulgence in social media.

Interesting concept, thanks for the read!

Interesting concept, thanks for the read!

¡Gotcha! dear @livetorise. And just to immerse you a bit deeper on this concept that you lucidly has mentioned. Take a corkscrew in this pool next for a perfect score of 10!! };)

Thank you for your much appreciated comment and upvote. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Por500Bolos from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63016.70
ETH 3028.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75