You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Emotional control: The sky is falling

in #society6 years ago

"Anytime we don't feel good, it is because we are the victims of oppression."

That is so funny, because sadly, it's true that some people actually think that.

"a discussion is very hard to have when those involved are unable to speak without getting emotional and triggered by varying views."

In the past, I suffered from this condition. For me, the cure was constant exposure to all views. On any issue, I figure out what I think, and then I go seek out what the other person thinks.

Google no longer knows what to recommend to me anymore, so my Youtube recommends are equally balanced between MSNBC and Fox News, the BBC and Jordan Peterson.

I feel a little bit proud that Google can no longer push me sideways.

Result: I usually get where other people are coming from, and I feel calm about stuff that used to trigger me. It's like the Matrix opened, I got a look inside, and realized that essentially, everybody is just the same.

Sort:  

Result: I usually get where other people are coming from, and I feel calm about stuff that used to trigger me. It's like the Matrix opened, I got a look inside, and realized that essentially, everybody is just the same.

If more people spent time doing what you are doing there would be a lot less violent conflict and a lot more cooperation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63149.00
ETH 3156.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85