You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Prison System: Mass incarceration and its alternatives

in #sociology5 years ago

I completely agree with you. There are many reasons why our prison population is out of control, a large one being revenue, as you’ve mentioned. I chose to forgo the reasons behind mass incarceration in order to keep the length down a bit.

The factors you mentioned are all theories I had researched during the writing of this article, and I agree that it’s difficult to determine, which is why I stated such in my article. I’m a bit confused where the skepticism is coming from as my article does not reference increased law enforcement. Would you care to expound?

Sort:  

I apologize if I was unclear in my late-night reply. I have seen in various other places a claim that the reduction in crime rates and increase in prison population has a causal relationship.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84