You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Individual Motivations For Joining A Social Group

in #sociology5 years ago

One of the things I have always found somewhat noteworthy is that the more we age, the more we tend to feel nostalgic and spend time reflecting on "old" days.

One theory is that we simply have a larger proportion of life behind us than in front of us... another that since life seems to be getting ever more complex and fast paced, we wax nostalgic for a simpler and slower time and take comfort in our memories as an escape.

I examine (for example) myself and my approach to being here, and it's part of a life-long attraction to things with a substantial writing component. I actually don't do most social media and even social events. Even in college, I preferred classes that were largely written rather than verbal... and that still holds true.

My original motivation for being here stands: To blog. My reason form leaving Facebook (mostly) was that there was too much "chatter."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62847.73
ETH 3173.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80