You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Prison System: Mass incarceration and its alternatives

in #sociology5 years ago (edited)

Here's an interesting take on a common law voluntary system to deal with people who violate anothers natural rights.
If the video doesn't start at 1:15:19 , that's where to start for about 5 mins or ..
no more prisons .. ? it's an idea

Sort:  

I’ll give this a look when I’m home this evening and share my thoughts :)

Looking forward to it, my friend..

PS

Sorry for the extremely late reply, I just got home. 😉😅

I have heard a lot about common law but never took the time to really look into it as bureaucracy makes my head hurt. The way this speaker put forth his ideas were very can gra I have heard a lot about common law but never took the time to really look into it as bureaucracy makes my head hurt. The way this speaker put forth his ideas were very congruent with my own thoughts. The only issue I see is for white collar crimes, and for rehabilitation. Sure paying restitution and redemption is nice, but I think that may result in a rise in subversive behaviors which people will use to skirt the law. “Looking for other ways to not get caught” so to say. But generally, I do think that these ideas are better than what we currently exist within.

Justice in a society that prizes freedom and the NAP, is a work in progress for sure. Thanks for the reply and I'm glad you got home safe. ;)
White collar crimes... who zoomed who? Whoever initiated contact, invaded space, has an onus to be correct. imho

All things in constant flux. <3

White collar crime.. - I agree with your stance that there is an onus to be corrected; however, the reason I bring WCC up is because it affects a broad spectrum of people (tax evasion by major corporations, for instance, removes funding that could be allocated to the society for benefits which in turn harms all those receiving those benefits). Thus, its difficult to place a victim as there are so many victims, faceless at that.

True, the way things are but the way they could be.. would there be tax? I think if we ever got the monkey (gov) off our back, we'd find better and better ways of doing things and eliminating that negative moral trickledown can only help lessen such things. Humanity is amazing left to self- determination

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57842.09
ETH 2895.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56